+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Technics 1210 - The Modification Rises

I'm Ty.

Default Technics 1210 - The Modification Rises

Well, my 1210 currently sits in bits waiting to be modified. I have a brand new Denon DL103R but as of yet no phono stage - I'm new to vinyl and turntables so I'd really appreciate any hints and tips to help me along. I want to modify the tonearm mainly. Here's the plan -

- to dampen inside the tonearm with three blobs of silicon (one in the middle and two either end).
    - I want to rewire with cardas cable from cartridge ends straight to phono connections - so I will add cotton wool at each end of the arm to suspend the cable through the arm - and trace the cable through the bottom of the mount and out. I could do with a lot of advice here - if bypassing the internal solder points for the signal cable as I intend to do where is the best place for me to run the cable? I'm a bit worried about the cable moving or being pulled from within the arm.
    - what about earthing?
    - I will buy a new platter mat - am thinking of the Isoplatmat or Funk Firm Achromat.
    - I will also buy a new headshell - Sumiko seems to be popular amongst you guys but having read some posts by Gdg (Giovanni) and it appears that even that headshell may be too light. I do have the opportunity to but an old headshell that weighs 14.5 grams - is that a better option than the Sumiko?
    - will new feet really make much of a difference?
    - Whist the turntable is in bits is there any dampening I could do internally?

I don't want to start spending too much so any other modification tips would be much appreciated.

As i said I am new to all this but I can solder and am good with cars so I fancy my chances - with your help!

Thanks

AFX

I'm Andrei.

Hello Ty