+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Touch/Caiman/AE setup issues

I'm Richard.

Default Touch/Caiman/AE setup issues

Hi all, please can you help this Mac owner (PC owners please leave).

I am new to all this digital stuff so please bear with me.

I have, as you can see, a Touch + Caiman with Gato upgrade and AEs. I have had the 1st 2 items for a week now and they have never been 'off'. I believe they should have 'burnt-in' by now.

I have a copy of the 24/96 version of Band-on-the -run as a FLAC file. I also have an AIFF copy of this done with, I think, XLD. The FLAC file played via the Touch/Caiman is inferior sonically in all ways to the AIFF played via Apple Airport Express (and not the latest version at that!). I believe that the AE natively outputs at the 16/14.1 format

The Apple Audio Midi Setup is set-up as 2ch- 24 bit, 96k, but a change to 16bit/44.1 seems to make little difference.

I have also tried this set up with a 'standard' download of Coldplay's Viva la Vida at 2822 kbps/44.1k (according to iTunes) in both FLAC and AIFF formats with the same results.

I am quite disappointed at this as given the hype on these and other forums, and the financial outlay, I was expecting a (modest) increase in sonic delivery.

I'm probably doing something wrong so would appreciate the cognoscenti giving their advice.

E.g. I've read somewhere that expecting the DAC + chip(s) in the 'Touch" to convert the FLAC format puts too much of a strain on its modest capabilities, and that is better converting the FLAC file to PCM (presumably 'low-endian' (there, I'm picking-up some of the terminology)) on the Mac first, but which software is 'best'? I started using 'MAX" but it seems to expect a 'cue sheet' (whatever that is), otherwise it won't work.

Thanks in advance,

I can't help but feel that when we've sorted all this out, a 'stickie' would be very useful.

BW

Richard

I'm Will.

Macs & Coldplay...time to leave...
    Cheers, Will