+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Windows 11

  1. #1
    Join Date: Oct 2008

    Location: Glasgowshire

    Posts: 9,039
    I'm Gary.

    Default Windows 11

    Got updated to Windows 11 yesterday, liking it so far.
    Feels slicker,
    All programs working just fine.

    Anyone else got it, what do you think?
    "Whats your vector Victor...?"

  2. #2
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 86,074
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    my pcs currently are not up to scratch lol. a lot of bollocks
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ ......Don't be such a big girl's blouse

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D - PANASONIC UB450 - LEAF HD BLUETOOTH - NURAPHONE' BOSE, CAMBRIDGE & SONY HEADPHONES - 2*ZBOOK'- ROON - MULTI HDD'S -

    **I’ve studied deeply in the philosophies and religions, but cheerfulness kept breaking through**

    "An old man sleeps with his conscience at night, while young kids sleep with their dreams"

    "Justice is sinking to the bottom of the sea, And it feels like I'm living in the wasteland of the free"

    It was the weakest practical joke since Cardinal Wolsey got his nob out at Hampton Court and stood at the end of the passage pretending to be a door!

    “without a cause, we are...nothing! We stay because we believe. We leave because we are disillusioned. We come back because we are lost. We die because we are committed."

    ***SMILE, BE HAPPY***

  3. #3
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: West Wales

    Posts: 736
    I'm malcolm.

    Default

    I'm carrying on with 10 until support drops and bugs with 11 are ironed out. Don't like some of the changes eg taskbar. I read somewhere that take up of 11 has been very small thus far and that a lot of machines capable of running it are showing in upgrade as not.
    Audiophile Tosher

  4. #4
    Join Date: May 2010

    Location: Weymouth

    Posts: 3,377
    I'm John.

    Default

    Oh no, not another bloody 'upgrade'!
    Sent by me using my finger



    Analogue: Technics SL1200/Mike New bearing and platter with MCRU LDA power supply, SME M2-9 tonearm, AT ART 9XI cartridge, Isonoe feet, Oyaide Mat/weight, EAR Phono Box/Dynavector P75 Mk. 4, Luxman 509X amplifier, Spendor S5E loudspeakers.

    Digital: Oppo UDP-105 Bluray, OPPO BDT-101CI, Innuos/Roon/Apple I-pad.

    Cables by Kimber. Generic supertweeters. Tube Distinctions Mains power filter.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 48,340
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    I believe Microsoft quote a minimum spec for user's devices that has to be met for Windows 11 to be compatible.

    However, I have read several comments saying this is not necessarily true and that older, lower spec computers have had Windows 11 installed and function well.
    Conspiracy theories are only perpetuated because people go looking for them!

  6. #6
    Join Date: Jan 2013

    Location: North East

    Posts: 11,773
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    It's a pile of shite..because my computer isn't compatible....
    'ANDSOME IN THE SUMMER..'ORIBBLE IN THE WINTER. Barney Milne

    Cambridge Audio CXN, Seagate nas drive, Michell Gyrodec SE, SME309, Benz M2 Ruby cantilever, Denon DL103, Primare R32, Densen D20, Densen D30, Cambridge Audio 840A V2 integrated, Pioneer SX-N30AE Network Stereo Receiver, Roksan Darius speakers, Technics speakers, Canon speakers, Bastanis Dragonfly Horns, REL Storm III sub, Target R1 speaker stands, Atacama Equinox.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 5,356
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walpurgis View Post
    I believe Microsoft quote a minimum spec for user's devices that has to be met for Windows 11 to be compatible.

    However, I have read several comments saying this is not necessarily true and that older, lower spec computers have had Windows 11 installed and function well.
    You might be shagged if updates render it incompatible though.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Jan 2013

    Location: North East

    Posts: 11,773
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lawrence001 View Post
    You might be shagged if updates render it incompatible though.
    You will be shagged when updates render it incompatible ...
    'ANDSOME IN THE SUMMER..'ORIBBLE IN THE WINTER. Barney Milne

    Cambridge Audio CXN, Seagate nas drive, Michell Gyrodec SE, SME309, Benz M2 Ruby cantilever, Denon DL103, Primare R32, Densen D20, Densen D30, Cambridge Audio 840A V2 integrated, Pioneer SX-N30AE Network Stereo Receiver, Roksan Darius speakers, Technics speakers, Canon speakers, Bastanis Dragonfly Horns, REL Storm III sub, Target R1 speaker stands, Atacama Equinox.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 5,356
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mad-moon View Post
    You will be shagged when updates render it incompatible ...
    Yes it's happened before. I bought my daughter a cheap laptop with 32g SSD for school which was the recommended minimum spec at the time. As W10 got updated the SDD quickly filled up with legacy OS stuff and you couldn't update Windows any more, but you couldn't switch updates off so it tried updating and failed every time you switched it on. You couldn't save anything either as the OS had filled up the drive.

    In the end I did find a solution. Reinstall the latest version from scratch from an ISO image and then switch your WiFi to a metered connection straight away. You can then switch off updates from metered connections. If you go somewhere else though you have to remember to switch that WiFi to metered straight away or it will update again and fill the drive up.

    Also if you want to update Windows eg. due to a major security flaw you have to wipe the machine and download the latest image onto a pen drive on another machineb again and reinstall. Also remember to copy all your files on an SD card or lose them.

    Lastly, every time you do this, you have to manually download drivers from places to get it working eg the card reader and printer. Then the software you want. All in all its half a day's job to update windows.

    And don't get me on the family security software that means she can't actually log on or ask me to confirm it with my password half the time. It's a joke it shouldn't have even got to beta testing as it is.

    I'll never recommend MS after this experience.

  10. #10
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 86,074
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    stick a bigger ssd into it and clone drive.
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ ......Don't be such a big girl's blouse

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D - PANASONIC UB450 - LEAF HD BLUETOOTH - NURAPHONE' BOSE, CAMBRIDGE & SONY HEADPHONES - 2*ZBOOK'- ROON - MULTI HDD'S -

    **I’ve studied deeply in the philosophies and religions, but cheerfulness kept breaking through**

    "An old man sleeps with his conscience at night, while young kids sleep with their dreams"

    "Justice is sinking to the bottom of the sea, And it feels like I'm living in the wasteland of the free"

    It was the weakest practical joke since Cardinal Wolsey got his nob out at Hampton Court and stood at the end of the passage pretending to be a door!

    “without a cause, we are...nothing! We stay because we believe. We leave because we are disillusioned. We come back because we are lost. We die because we are committed."

    ***SMILE, BE HAPPY***

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •