+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Remote Control conflicts

  1. #1
    Join Date: Jan 2021

    Location: West of Scotland

    Posts: 31
    I'm Martin.

    Default Remote Control conflicts

    Today I received a new Quad Artera pre to replace the Play version. Apart from all the SQ benefits for which I am pleased, I have acquired an issue, one or two of the Quad remote buttons change settings on the Cambridge CXN. This is, I'm sure you can imagine, annoying to say the least so has this broad problem occurred elsewhere and how was it solved? I have sent an email to Quad to see their response, we'll see what they say.
    Regards
    Martin

  2. #2
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: The Black Country

    Posts: 5,689
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    This happens occasionally as there are 'sets' of commands that are used repeatedly across makes.

    Unfortunately there isn't a solution without redesign/complete butchery* of one of the units remote circuitry.

    *Choose your poison
    I love Hendrix for so many reasons. He was so much more than just a blues guitarist - he played damn well any kind of guitar he wanted. In fact I'm not sure if he even played the guitar - he played music. - Stevie Ray Vaughan

  3. #3
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 4,759
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    This used to happen to me with my old Marantz players and Arcam amps. The volume used to change on both so I had to manually change the volume on the amp.

    Also more recently I think the play button on my Meridian CDP also starts playing my Linn streamer but I might have got mixed about this one.

    The solution is to walk over to press those buttons on the unit, or if there aren't buttons then to block the sensor on the one you don't want to react, I think a hand usually does it for infra red.

  4. #4
    Join Date: Jul 2013

    Location: Kingsbury, NW London

    Posts: 1,218
    I'm Clive.

    Default

    An age old problem as so many manufacturers use the Philips codec for remote control.
    SOURCE:OPPO UDP-205 BluRay, SkyQ, Technics SL1210M5G/Achromat/MN Bearing/Isonoes with Boots/Jelco TK-850S Tonearm/AT-OC9XSH or Hana ML, PS Audio NuWave Phono Converter
    DAC (Portable): Chord Mojo/Poly
    AMPLIFIER: Bryston BR-20 Pre/DAC/Streamer & Bryston 4B3 Power Amplifier
    SPEAKERS: Spendor D7.
    HEADPHONES: OPPO PM-1 with Atlas Zeno cable, B&W C5 v2
    CABLES: Analogue: Speaker - Chord Signature. Interconnect - Atlas Mavros XLR x2, Chord Signature Tuned Aray XLR, MCRU Silver Tonearm cable
    Digital:Audioquest Carbon Ethernet x 4, English Electric 8Switch, Chord Optichord, Atlas Optical.
    Mains: Chord Power Chord x2, Black Rhodium Libra/MK/Shurter or Wattgate x3, IsoTek Orion 6 way, Sounds Fantastic 6way Mains Blocks.
    STORAGE: Synology DS216J NAS with 2 x 3Tb WD Red hard-drives. Samsung 500Gb SSD.
    TV LG55B7 OLED

  5. #5
    Join Date: Jul 2013

    Location: Kingsbury, NW London

    Posts: 1,218
    I'm Clive.

    Default

    An age old problem as so many manufacturers use the Philips codec for remote control.
    Last edited by Clive197; 22-04-2021 at 13:18. Reason: Posted twice by accident, sorry
    SOURCE:OPPO UDP-205 BluRay, SkyQ, Technics SL1210M5G/Achromat/MN Bearing/Isonoes with Boots/Jelco TK-850S Tonearm/AT-OC9XSH or Hana ML, PS Audio NuWave Phono Converter
    DAC (Portable): Chord Mojo/Poly
    AMPLIFIER: Bryston BR-20 Pre/DAC/Streamer & Bryston 4B3 Power Amplifier
    SPEAKERS: Spendor D7.
    HEADPHONES: OPPO PM-1 with Atlas Zeno cable, B&W C5 v2
    CABLES: Analogue: Speaker - Chord Signature. Interconnect - Atlas Mavros XLR x2, Chord Signature Tuned Aray XLR, MCRU Silver Tonearm cable
    Digital:Audioquest Carbon Ethernet x 4, English Electric 8Switch, Chord Optichord, Atlas Optical.
    Mains: Chord Power Chord x2, Black Rhodium Libra/MK/Shurter or Wattgate x3, IsoTek Orion 6 way, Sounds Fantastic 6way Mains Blocks.
    STORAGE: Synology DS216J NAS with 2 x 3Tb WD Red hard-drives. Samsung 500Gb SSD.
    TV LG55B7 OLED

  6. #6
    Join Date: Apr 2016

    Location: West of Scotland

    Posts: 2,497
    I'm Robin.

    Default

    I have this problem with my Primare remote and the Arcam remote
    Regards
    Robin

    .....................



    Acoustic Solid Wood MPX, Ortofon Quintet Bronze
    Primare I 32 amp
    Primare R 32 phono stage
    Arcam CDS50 Sacd Network Player
    ART Stiletto 6V3. Loudspeakers

  7. #7
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: London

    Posts: 290
    I'm David.

    Default

    I'm doing a Satchmo preamp and Ella headphone amp for a client. both with remote control. By using the same control module we can eradicate one remote control but then of course both volumes would operate together. An on /off switch on the preamp solves this for when the client is listening through headphones
    David

  8. #8
    Join Date: Jan 2021

    Location: West of Scotland

    Posts: 31
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    This really shouldn't be a problem at all in this day and age, and it is pretty basic technology. All it needs is a method to remap button presses to different IR code numbers and it all goes away. Given that remotes breed down the back of the sofa and are almost indispensable for domestic entertainment devices, and all the examples above show how common it is, then I have some trouble in meekly accepting it. I don't doubt money will be the justification, and in this instance IAG have attempted to save a few pennies by making a multipurpose remote for three units, which just exacerbates the problem. I have brought the problem to IAGs attention, we'll see what they say.
    Regards
    Martin

  9. #9
    Join Date: Jan 2021

    Location: West of Scotland

    Posts: 31
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    I am pleased to be able to tell you that the problem has been resolved courtesy of Rob Flain at IAG, so big up to him. The Cambridge has the function of an alternative set of IR codes in soft/firmware and changing these has removed the conflicts, hooray. There is a lesson here that I suspect won't be universally learnt but at least I no longer have a problem. Now if I could just sort my ears so easily.
    Regards
    Martin

  10. #10
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 78,831
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    good to hear. cambridge obviously thought this out in advance
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ ......Don't be such a big girl's blouse

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D - PANASONIC UB450 - IFI PURIFIER 2/PATHOS CLASSIC REMIX & HIDAC AMPLIFIER - LEAF HD BLUETOOTH - NURAPHONE' HEADPHONES - 2*ZBOOK'- ROON - MULTI HDD'S - DIGIONE RPI3 - EDINGDALE MK1 SPEAKERS - CABLE INC SUPRA, FISUAL, MOGAMI,

    **Ive studied deeply in the philosophies and religions, but cheerfulness kept breaking through**

    "An old man sleeps with his conscience at night, while young kids sleep with their dreams"

    "Justice is sinking to the bottom of the sea, And it feels like I'm living in the wasteland of the free"

    It was the weakest practical joke since Cardinal Wolsey got his nob out at Hampton Court and stood at the end of the passage pretending to be a door!

    I like my whisky old and my women young. "Happiness is having a rare steak, a bottle of whisky, and a dog to eat the rare steak!"

    ***SMILE, BE HAPPY***

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •