+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Greetings from Ystradgynlais

I'm Peter.

Cool Greetings from Ystradgynlais

Hi Guys,

Been lurking for many years & realised tonight that I registered 5-years ago I'm somewhat overdue to introduce myself.
    Brilliant site, often end up here after running Google searches for projects I'm working on.

Loved music and the magic kit that brings it alive since a nipper, and never bored of the fascination.

Particularly like vintage gear, but only if it can reasonably hold it's own against the new.
    Don't like the constant churn of shiny new kit just for the sake of it.

I'm an audio engineer by trade and prefer to "keep it real" if at all possible.
    Make my own interconnects with "honest" cable & connectors.
    Whilst I appreciate and use digital audio daily, prefer pure analogue whenever possible.

Have a mish mash of kit that definately needs thinning out, my listening space is temporary so my main kit is a lash up:

Lenco 88 (upgraded bearing) with a Carl plinth on Townsend Sink with Origin Live Silver/Supex 900, Ear 834 clone
    Sony ST-A6B tuner, i5 HTPC & Musical Fidelity V90 DAC
    Panasonic TXP60ZT65B
    Bryston BP25 pre / 4BST power
    Currently: Tannoy homebrews with K3808 (15" Dual Concentrics) & DIY boutique crossovers & two Rel Stadium subs.

I collect numerous Tannoy drivers and fettle passive crossovers for fun, although I have ability to drive them actively.
    Enjoy the challenge to pursue how far they can go. I have found the Dual Concentrics endlessly intrigueing in that they can sound absolutely different just by different Xover designs & subtle component changes.
    From my own experience and opinion, you can make them sound as quick and "modern" as you like.
    Probably ask for trouble as I'm a heritic - far more experienced in the ferrite magnet models.

Also collect 1/4 inch machines (Revox, Technics, Studer & Telefunken) at least half has to go.