+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Mission 752 Freedom problems

  1. #21
    Join Date: Feb 2021

    Location: Lowestoft

    Posts: 15
    I'm Roger.

    Default

    Now got a budget of about 500 for an amp, any suggestion new or pre-loved?

  2. #22
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Valley of the Hazels

    Posts: 9,100
    I'm AMusicFanNotAnAudiophile.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macca View Post
    If you don't want to spend big I'd suggest getting one of these second hand http://www.hifi-review.com/150474-nad-c320bee.html - I'm using one at the moment. Gives almost nothing away to much more expensive amps (I've got lots!) and was only 110 delivered off eBay.
    I have been running a C320BEE since 2003 (bought it new from Richer Sounds, and then it was 220.00 IIRC), and it's a great amp.
    And as you've already said, it gives very little away to much more expensive amps.

    My son has an Arcam Alpha 7R, and it is another great sounding, built like a tank amplifier.
    They can be had for sensible money on Ebay.
    Chris



    Common sense isn't anymore!

  3. #23
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 4,637
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Stick the old speakers back in just to check. You never know something could have happened at the same time you changed over.

    Sent from my BKL-L09 using Tapatalk

  4. #24
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Norfolk, UK

    Posts: 5,644
    I'm BigBobJoylove.

    Default

    See if you can find a minty Arcam Diva A85 - you should get one for 350-ish. Blummin' wonderful amps for the cash. I have one in my second system (but it's staying there).

  5. #25
    Join Date: Feb 2021

    Location: Lowestoft

    Posts: 15
    I'm Roger.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lawrence001 View Post
    Stick the old speakers back in just to check. You never know something could have happened at the same time you changed over.

    Sent from my BKL-L09 using Tapatalk
    I have just done that and the sound was still there but not as pronounced, it turns out the vocal on the track I was listening too had a strange effect on it. They sound great with everything else, just a bit of bass missing form from what I like.

  6. #26
    Join Date: Feb 2021

    Location: Lowestoft

    Posts: 15
    I'm Roger.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Filterlab View Post
    See if you can find a minty Arcam Diva A85 - you should get one for 350-ish. Blummin' wonderful amps for the cash. I have one in my second system (but it's staying there).
    I'll have a look, thanks

  7. #27
    Join Date: Feb 2021

    Location: Lowestoft

    Posts: 15
    I'm Roger.

    Default

    An update on what I've done.

    I've managed to get an Arcam SA20 at a great price pre-loved. Although better I was still not entirely happy. Today I thought I'd download the manual for the speakers and it mentioned that before you use them that you check that the drive unit screws are all tight, not heard of this before? Anyway I've checked them and I couldn't believe that the were all loose! So the noise I've been hearing is vibration, they are now sounding sweet and I'm really happy

    ps thanks for everybodys input

  8. #28
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Norfolk, UK

    Posts: 5,644
    I'm BigBobJoylove.

    Default

    Nice. Very often the answer is so simple it evades many.

  9. #29
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 4,637
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Good call I always check this when I buy a pair of speakers I should have thought of it.

    Sent from my BKL-L09 using Tapatalk

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •