+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I add a valve pre amp?

I'm Nick.

Default Should I add a valve pre amp?

Hi AOS, Would really appreciate some advice/guidance as I am far from an expert...

For my work system I am toying with adding a valve pre amp.

The room is 8x8x2.4m concrete floor. Not hi-fi heaven. It's a studio and we like to listen to quality music. Have been trying a few different amps speakers and we are getting somewhere.

Currently the rig is:
    Kenwood KT5020 FM tuner
    Sony multiple CD player
    Iphone 6 playing Spotify Premium etc...
    into Beresford SEC DAC (FM Tuner comes in via chap analogue to digital converter)
    Proceed Amplifier 2 Power Amp
    Speakers Celestion 44's

As the acoustics are brutal I am thinking of adding valves and if I got a valve pre amp I could put the FM tuner directly into it (as putting analogue to digital does make the FM radio sound a bit flat). We listen to FM radio on fairly quiet most of the day, but I do crank it up and use CD's and phone when alone.

Or i could add a valve buffer?

My budget is £600. Do you think valves will help?

Thanks for any guidance or experience you may care to pass on.

I'm Nigel.

One of those ifi itube2 valve buffers might be exactly what you are looking for. They can be used as a single input pre amp as well, assuming swapping cables is no hardship, access wise. I'm sure you could pick up a used example and sell it on for not much loss, if it didn't produce the required results.

I'm Nick.

Thanks Nigel. That Ifi Micro Itube 2 is one option but only having one input would mean I need to add a switch I guess, to facilitate the FM radio to avoid going into the DAC. I could switch between the DAC output and the FM radio. Wonder if a switch will cause any issues?

I'm Adrian.

Quote Originally Posted by nickv View Post
    Hi AOS, Would really appreciate some advice/guidance as I am far from an expert...