+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Akai 4000DB in the dark

  1. #1
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Chipping Norton, UK

    Posts: 62
    I'm Steve.

    Default Akai 4000DB in the dark

    I've just acquired my dad's old akai 4000DB which has been slumbering in its original box undisturbed for the last 30-ish years, and prior to that had extremely minimal use, and visually is in mint condition.
    It's not all good though as it has been stored in a damp-ish environment and with the wooden case off peripheral areas of the chassis are showing corrosion, although the main gubbins inside seen pretty pristine.
    After a quick check over/clean I fired her up and all 'seems' to be working ... not actually tried recording yet, waiting until reassembly.
    I don't have any lights on the front panel though .... no VU meter lights, no record light, no Dolby light ... nowt! .... any ideas from you clever people out there? ... fuse maybe? ... i'm the first to admit I'm no good with this kind of elektrickery ;^(

    Thanks, Steve
    I wish I knew what I was doing ....
    www.reesguitars.co.uk

  2. #2
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 24,449
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    When you say "all 'seems' to be working", what exactly do you mean? Do the motors work when you select 'Play', 'Forward wind' or 'Rewind'?

    If they do then it is unlikely to be the fuse. Is the fuse accessible from the outside? If it is then it easy to check.

    VU meter lights often fail and can be replaced, though your machine is probably at least 40 years old so replacement bulbs might be hard to source.
    Barry

  3. #3
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Chipping Norton, UK

    Posts: 62
    I'm Steve.

    Default

    Thanks Barry,
    It's not a main fuse as motor runs nicely, Play/FF/Rwd all working, but I thought there may be some internal small fuse protecting the panel lighting circuit maybe ??.... unless it is a coincidence that all panel lights have failed.
    Cheers,
    Steve
    I wish I knew what I was doing ....
    www.reesguitars.co.uk

  4. #4
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 74,957
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    think the bulbs are 8v.. tey do go, although its odd they have all gone. not sure where the 8v is generated so could be that.. tapeheads might be of use if none the our tape guys know
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ ......Don't be such a big girl's blouse

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D - PANASONIC UB450 - IFI PURIFIER 2/PATHOS CLASSIC REMIX & HIDAC AMPLIFIER - LEAF HD BLUETOOTH - NURAPHONE' HEADPHONES - 2*ZBOOK'- ROON - MULTI HDD'S - DIGIONE RPI3 - EDINGDALE MK1 SPEAKERS - CABLE INC SUPRA, FISUAL, MOGAMI,

    **Ive studied deeply in the philosophies and religions, but cheerfulness kept breaking through**

    "An old man sleeps with his conscience at night, while young kids sleep with their dreams"

    "Justice is sinking to the bottom of the sea, And it feels like I'm living in the wasteland of the free"

    It was the weakest practical joke since Cardinal Wolsey got his nob out at Hampton Court and stood at the end of the passage pretending to be a door!

    I like my whisky old and my women young. Errol Flynn

    ***SMILE, BE HAPPY***

  5. #5
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Chipping Norton, UK

    Posts: 62
    I'm Steve.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by struth View Post
    think the bulbs are 8v.. although its odd they have all gone. not sure where the 8v is generated so could be that..
    Thanks Grant, if it's 8v on that circuit that may narrow things down ... was going to try Tapeheads but thought i'd try here first :^)
    Cheers!
    I wish I knew what I was doing ....
    www.reesguitars.co.uk

  6. #6
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 24,449
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    I did a quick check on Google and the VU lamps for the Akai 4000D MkII are 6.3V 150mA. But I couldn't find a source for replacements.
    Barry

  7. #7
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Chipping Norton, UK

    Posts: 62
    I'm Steve.

    Default

    Thanks Barry

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    I did a quick check on Google and the VU lamps for the Akai 4000D MkII are 6.3V 150mA. But I couldn't find a source for replacements.
    I wish I knew what I was doing ....
    www.reesguitars.co.uk

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •