+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hypoallergenic family dog recommendations

I'm Kevin.

Default Hypoallergenic family dog recommendations

My daughter keeps asking for a pet, and my wife thinks it would be a good idea, but she is allergic to cats and dogs.

So, I have been doing a bit of research, and it seems that there are a few suitable dogs breeds that woukd be giid.

The question is, which would be most suitable for a 5 year old child? I am most tempted by a mini schnauzer or a westie, as I want a small to medium size dog.

We have a large garden, and the dog is likely to spend the day outdoors when we are at work (one of the reasons I don't think a pet.is a great idea). I will build a shelter, or make a hole in the shed wall so it has shelter available with water etc.

So based on the fact we work 5 days a week, is getting a dog a good idea? If so, which is best suited for a child? I have limited experience with dogs - I had one as a pet when I was growing up, so I am.hoping those with a lot more experience can ooint me in the right direction.

My plan B was to get her some fish....
    Kevin

Too busy enjoying the music....

European loan coordinator for Graham Slee HiFi system components..

I'm Geoff.

Quote Originally Posted by CageyH View Post
    is getting a dog a good idea?
    No. Dogs aren't just 'things' that can be plonked outside for the entertainment of a child, they need human interaction and respond to affection. They may survive outside in the cold and damp (which some poor animals have to), but really a dog should be treated as part of the family and kept indoors. They are highly intelligent and reward kindness.
    It is impossible for anything digital to sound analogue, because it isn't analogue!

I'm Grant.