+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Richer Sounds Repair

  1. #1
    Join Date: Oct 2011

    Location: Bacup

    Posts: 493
    I'm Andrew.

    Default Richer Sounds Repair

    Has anyone used Richer Sounds for a repair? If so was the experience good? I have a broken Cambridge Audio 851E pre-amp and I am thinking of going back to the original seller because I am assuming they have knowledge of the brand and possible the model. For the curious, the amp died on switch on. I found a blown internal fuse which I replaced but on switching on there was life briefly before a small puff of smoke and the amp died again. This time, rather worryingly the fuses are intact. Thanks in advance, Andy.

  2. #2
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 24,062
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    Did you replace the internal fuse with one of an identical rupture rating and speed?
    Barry

  3. #3
    Join Date: Oct 2011

    Location: Bacup

    Posts: 493
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Well....I thought I had Barry. T4AL 250v. It was a slow blow, I wish I had put a quick blow in now! but I just followed the markings. There is no sign of where the smoke came from, no burn damage. I wonder if there is another fuse hidden away somewhere? There is no sign of power in the unit, no standby light or display.

  4. #4
    Join Date: Sep 2014

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Posts: 1,231
    I'm John.

    Default

    4A slow blow is a big fuse for a pre amp, just saying.

  5. #5
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 29,562
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Take it to Richer Sounds, they are pretty good at helping out with these things.

    I have used their repair service but it was in about 1989 so my experience is a bit out of date. No complaints though, they fixed the amp pretty quickly and it worked fine afterwards.
    Current Lash Up:

    *Audiolab 6000CDT* SoncozSGD1 * Krell KSA100 mkII * JM Lab Electra 926 *


    'You fool! To think that your ape-brain could contain the full knowledge of the Krell!'

  6. #6
    Join Date: Oct 2011

    Location: Bacup

    Posts: 493
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    Thanks John and Martin. Funnily enough it was bought as one of their repaired b stock type items. Perhaps the original fault has returned. Please feel free to wade in if you have used Richer Sounds.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Chorley, Lancs

    Posts: 2,290
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    i'd be surprised if Richer Sounds actually do any repairs themselves, more likely this work will be sub contracted out, i know for instance that anything that goes back to Samsung actually ends up at Martin Dawes as they do all the testing and repairs if they are possible, i may be wrong but it seems to be the way of things.


    As the late Colonel Sanders once said
    "I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!!"

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •