+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Amplifier Misery

  1. #1
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Chorley, Lancs

    Posts: 2,212
    I'm Mike.

    Default Amplifier Misery

    So as some of you know i've recently purchased a Primaluna Evo400i unfortunately i bought it just as lockdown came into force and it's in Edinburgh i'm in Chorley, no big deal i thought 3 or 4 weeks and we'll be back to normal, i could have had it posted but i'd rather not chance it anyway we are now upwards of 6 or 7 weeks into lockdown travel is ok in England now but not into Scotland and as i recall the borders police are particularly shit hot so no way am i going to chance a trip, if i was an adviser to lets say ohhhh Boris Johnson i might, but as an average Joe it's not worth the risk.

    Anyway i'm a bit peeved but as i still have my Marantz PM66 kis i can still listen to some choonz, that was until this morning, turned everything on as usual and half way through an LP it just stopped, it lights up but not a whisper out of the speakers, i don't get the click 4 or 5 seconds after turning it on any more as it turns the output on nothing, arrrrgghhh fuck you hifi gods.

    So not knowing when i'm going to be able to travel to bonny Scotland for the PL, it's left me with a dilemma do i sit it out and wait for the PL? do i try to get the Marantz fixed? or do i buy another amp in the meantime?


    As the late Colonel Sanders once said
    "I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!!"

  2. #2
    Join Date: May 2018

    Location: Woking

    Posts: 487
    I'm Chris.

    Default

    It's for situation such as this why I 'need' three amps (and they're just the ones t'other half knows about) in reserve. . . I've thought about selling them but what if the worst happens . . . and then happens again . . .

    Of course as I have them I've never actually needed them (fingers crossed) but I'm absolutely sure (and you can blame the hifi gods for this again) that if I had not taken such precautions, I would no doubt need them.

    I think that is pretty much the definition of sods law . . .

    To not beat around the proverbial bush I'd buy a 'stop gap' amp you are happy to listen to in the mean time. Funds permitting etc.

    These little Class D's can be pretty good, delivered quickly (Prime) and are cheap for what its worth. I've got one (okay two) for delivering a line level to a pair of subs and it actually sounds better than it has any right to.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/DollaTek-TP...0509358&sr=8-3
    System 1: - Amp - Musical Paradise MP-701 - Neurochrome 686
    - Source: Linn LP12 (AT-OC9XEN) - D-Klimo LAR copy - Novafidelity X12 - Musical Paradise MP-D1 mkII -
    - Speakers: Cambridge Acoustic "Grand Master Evolution" Subs: - REL T3's -

    System 2 - Amp: Marantz 1060
    - Source: Audio Technica LP5 - EAR834p clone - Pioneer N-30K - Musical Paradise MP-D1 -
    - Speakers: Loth X BS1's - Sub: REL T3 -

    System 3: - Amp: Custom N-core 300B SEP -
    - Source: Cambridge Audio Stream Magic 6 - Topping E30 -
    - Speakers: Quad 63's -

  3. #3
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 43,562
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Maybe there's a kind member in your neck of the woods who can lend you an amp for the time being?
    "when common sense, logic and plausibility are excluded. All that remain are foolishness and lies"

  4. #4
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 43,562
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Opti-cal View Post
    These little Class D's can be pretty good, delivered quickly (Prime) and are cheap for what its worth. I've got one (okay two) for delivering a line level to a pair of subs and it actually sounds better than it has any right to.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/DollaTek-TP...0509358&sr=8-3
    I have one. They work well!
    "when common sense, logic and plausibility are excluded. All that remain are foolishness and lies"

  5. #5
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Chorley, Lancs

    Posts: 2,212
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    Thinking about it, there's loads of old amps at work i could use, but i've seen a Sony TA-F700ES in mint condition for what i think is a reasonable 230, i'm very tempted


    As the late Colonel Sanders once said
    "I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!!"

  6. #6
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 6,478
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    It could be a tired relay, if it is relay switched. Sometimes the contacts get oxidised. Some of them have removable covers and you can squirt some contact cleaner in there. I have also read that even giving them a few sharp taps with a non-conductive implement.....like the end of a pencil can bring get them working. I assume you have checked if there are any blown internal fuses.
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

    https://youtu.be/ZCBe7-6rw4M

    Friedrich Klappernost Extrovert Monoblocks, Acertum Triono 3 Speakers, Audio Mezzanine II Dac, Deo 2 NOS Dac, Vinyl Finyl TT with Scutt III Arm and Hiroko Plectrum Advanced MC Cart, Electro Wizard MC step-up, Twisted Phrame Super Balanced Interconnects, Dreadnought 7 speakers cables, Plattform Essential Isolation supports, Spectrum Definitive Flotilla Racks.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: The Black Country

    Posts: 5,454
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    If the relay doesn't even click it's unlikely to be bad contacts.

    For info I have a diamond encrusted scapula that I use for cleaning relay contacts, particularly output mute relays in power amps, works really well.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Chorley, Lancs

    Posts: 2,212
    I'm Mike.

    Default

    Whatever it is i don't have the time, the tools or the patience to be farting about with an old amp, i'm tempted with the Sony though, which looks like a bit of a beast and unlike my Marantz which i've read can be a bit brittle the Sony ES amps of this era are bomb proof.


    As the late Colonel Sanders once said
    "I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!!"

  9. #9
    Join Date: Dec 2017

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Posts: 316
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Firebottle View Post
    If the relay doesn't even click it's unlikely to be bad contacts.

    For info I have a diamond encrusted scapula that I use for cleaning relay contacts, particularly output mute relays in power amps, works really well.
    Is that so you can get your shoulder behind it?

  10. #10
    Join Date: Mar 2009

    Location: South West-ish, UK

    Posts: 351
    I'm Patrick.

    Default

    Stick a kid in the back and if you get stopped in Scotland say you were just testing you eyes and got lost on the way to Barnards Castle.

    You might cop a bit of flack, but Boris will back you.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •