+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice/Opinions sought - DAC/Streamer choice

I'm Martyn.

Default Advice/Opinions sought - DAC/Streamer choice

Thought I'd trawl the vast knowledge & experience of the assembled members, for ideas and advice (pretty please!)

I'm pretty new to streaming and want to gain access to my slowly growing FLAC repository on the PC and one of the quality services (Tidal, Amazon, Spotify), plus internet radio that I often listen to.

Anyway, having trawled AOS and YouTube (Darko and others) I have (to date) come up with three "solutions" and I'm never going to be able to do any comparison before buying.

I am cost conscious (tight, some would say!) so I'm erring to the budget end, but clearly understand there maybe big benefits from not necessarily a huge budget increase.

Please tell me if there are other/better options within similar budgets, plus point out any mistakes I'm about to make.

I'm after Pre/DAC/Streamer solution to feed existing power amp & speakers, I like the idea of MQA but not sure I'd pay for the Premium subscription (should I make sure I do?)

Option 1 Pro-ject S2 DAC & S2 Streamer (£450)

Option 2 Marantz NA6006 (£300)

Option 3. Raspberry Pi 3B+ & Hiberry DAC + (£100)

As I'm Monitor Audio fan I like musicality over ultimate clarity, I would expect the Marantz to work well and would be a user-friendly one box solution.

The DIY appeal of the RPi appeals to me, as well as cost savings, but would be harder for my wife to accommodate, but IF (big one) it will perform close to the Marantz then maybe work is required here.

The Pro-ject I'm sure is good value, but would really stretch me financially, so I'd like to be sure it would deliver significantly more than the Marantz.

For info I currently use a NAD C340 amp to Kef Coda 7, but will soon swap the speakers to Monitor Audio R700Gold that are currently in Brittany.