+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: More Pi / Computer Based Audio Questions

I'm Russell.

Default More Pi / Computer Based Audio Questions

So I think I now have the Pi up and running as it should on Roon (see my other thread...) and really starting to enjoy what Roon can do.

As I have a Tidal HiFi subscription, I'm keen to trial the MQA facility and have gotten my hands on a Pro-Ject S2 Digital Pre-Amp DAC which unfolds Masters quality files.

The bad news is that I've learnt this facility is only available via the USB inout of the DAC and not Coax / SPDIF or Optical.

Question is how do I get audio output via USB on my Pi (Hifiberry Digi +) as I can only see SPDIF / Optical outputs on this or can't I?

If not, are there Pi sound cards with USB audio out that I can sue or do I need to use a PC / Mac?

Thanks.

I'm Pavel.

You have to connect the Pro-Ject to one of the USB ports on the Pi.

I'm Alastair.

You need to take the USB directly from the RPI. The Digi+ only provides a coax interface for the RPI. It's worth spending a bit on a decent USB cable because, as I discovered, they do make a difference, and eventually a reclocker if your budget will stretch that far. There are several threads on TAS on USB cables and reclockers.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk
    Cheers

Alastair

RPI4/PI2AES running PiCorePlayer/LMS-> AQ Carbon AES -> Topping D90 DAC-> Khozomo Passive Pre-Amp -> 4x Temple Audio Monoblocks powered by 2xLiFePO batteries->Van Damme Black Bi-Wired to B&W 804 Nautilus and Sommer Carbokab 225 Interconnects

I'm Russell.

Thanks, that's what I thought but I can't get any audio signal out of my Pi's 4 USB sockets at all, hence the question?

I don't have the Pro-Ject DAC yet but it won't work with my Chord Mojo anyway.

Do I need to adjust any settings in my Pi?
    Last edited by Weeman1973; 11-03-2020 at 08:43.

I'm Russell.

This is a screenshot of the signal path on Roon.