+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: De Coupled/ Digital Hi Level Cable For A REL Quake.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date: May 2011

    Location: Torquay

    Posts: 2,551
    I'm Craig.

    Default De Coupled/ Digital Hi Level Cable For A REL Quake.

    Further to my earlier posts re the sub problem that I have, sadly , despite REL making me a digital hi level cable a long time back, I can’t find it, so,
    I need one making up.
    I emailed Sounds Heavenly in Melton Mowbray , but I have yet to receive a reply ��.

    As you May have read previously, I left off the black wire when connecting from my amp to the sub, but got nothing but a hum, I earthed it to the amp chassis, hum went, but no audio at all.

    When connecting from the terminals of the amp to the PC input of the sub, it worked, but folk here warned me that was not the way to do it.

    Many further calls to REL put me onto Heavenly Sounds, but no reply yet, so just wondering if anyone here could make a cable up?
    Many thanks.
    Naim Mu-So
    And other stuff.

  2. #2
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Much Wenlock

    Posts: 1,110
    I'm Gary.

    Default

    I don't understand what a "digital " high level cable is?

    I havn't read your previous post on this issue, but assume you are connecting to an integrated amp?

    You may be referring to the high level Speakon connector that has 3 wires, yellow, red and black.

    Yellow goes to LH positive speaker terminal, black goes to LH negative speaker connection and red to RH positive speaker terminal. You will not get sound if you connect black to amplifier chassis.

    This is a standard Speakon connector cable, nothing special or "digital".

    Your LH and RH speakers are connected as normal.

    Perhaps I misunderstood your problem?

    Gary
    It is easier to seek forgiveness than to ask permission

    Rules are meant for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men

  3. #3
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 3,581
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icehockeyboy View Post
    Further to my earlier posts re the sub problem that I have, sadly , despite REL making me a digital hi level cable a long time back, I canít find it, so,
    I need one making up.
    I emailed Sounds Heavenly in Melton Mowbray , but I have yet to receive a reply ��.

    As you May have read previously, I left off the black wire when connecting from my amp to the sub, but got nothing but a hum, I earthed it to the amp chassis, hum went, but no audio at all.

    When connecting from the terminals of the amp to the PC input of the sub, it worked, but folk here warned me that was not the way to do it.

    Many further calls to REL put me onto Heavenly Sounds, but no reply yet, so just wondering if anyone here could make a cable up?
    Many thanks.
    I had one made last year for a project that I never saw through, it was designed for my Rel Quake using the speaker outs of my amp. I think it's stereo banana plugs to speakon. Shall I dig it out?

    Sent from my POT-LX1 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date: May 2011

    Location: Torquay

    Posts: 2,551
    I'm Craig.

    Default

    To answer you both, my amp is digital, so, according to knowledgeable folk on here, and REL themselves, the black lead should not be connected, but, all I got was hum, until I put it to ground on the chassis of the amp, but no audio output whatsoever.

    REL had previously made me up a lead for my Lyngdorf digital amp, but I can’t find it, hence my request, as instructed by Ben at REL, to obtain what I originally put, De- coupled, or digital. His words.
    Naim Mu-So
    And other stuff.

  5. #5
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Much Wenlock

    Posts: 1,110
    I'm Gary.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icehockeyboy View Post
    To answer you both, my amp is digital, so, according to knowledgeable folk on here, and REL themselves, the black lead should not be connected, but, all I got was hum, until I put it to ground on the chassis of the amp, but no audio output whatsoever.

    REL had previously made me up a lead for my Lyngdorf digital amp, but I can’t find it, hence my request, as instructed by Ben at REL, to obtain what I originally put, De- coupled, or digital. His words.
    Just me being dumb then, didn’t realize that there was an issue with D amps.

    I’ll shut up till I know what I’m talking about!

    Gary
    It is easier to seek forgiveness than to ask permission

    Rules are meant for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men

  6. #6
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 3,581
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    I remember now I had one made to the standard Rel high level connection spec but you can leave the black disconnected as in this link. Or alternatively just cut it off but you might want to keep it for the chassis ground option. I was going to use a class d amp but it never went ahead.

    https://rel.net/how-to-connect-a-rel-to-a-class-d-amp/

    Let me know if you want me to get it out.

  7. #7
    Join Date: May 2011

    Location: Torquay

    Posts: 2,551
    I'm Craig.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lawrence001 View Post
    I remember now I had one made to the standard Rel high level connection spec but you can leave the black disconnected as in this link. Or alternatively just cut it off but you might want to keep it for the chassis ground option. I was going to use a class d amp but it never went ahead.

    https://rel.net/how-to-connect-a-rel-to-a-class-d-amp/

    Let me know if you want me to get it out.
    Sorry to be a pain, but any chance of a photograph of the cable please?
    Naim Mu-So
    And other stuff.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 3,581
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by icehockeyboy View Post
    Sorry to be a pain, but any chance of a photograph of the cable please?
    Of course I'll try and do it tonight when I get home

  9. #9
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: The Black Country

    Posts: 5,214
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    Some class D amps have an 'offset' voltage on both red and black output terminals.

    I have measured +12V on both terminals of certain class D amps. Most if not all use the bridge tied load (BTL) output scheme where both output terminals are driven.
    You must not earth either output on class D.

  10. #10
    Join Date: May 2011

    Location: Torquay

    Posts: 2,551
    I'm Craig.

    Default

    Thanks!
    Naim Mu-So
    And other stuff.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •