+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Main cables advice

  1. #1
    Join Date: Oct 2009

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    Posts: 389
    I'm Phil.

    Default Main cables advice

    Hi folks , im not convinced that mains cables make a difference to sound quality, but think my system deserves better than standard kettle leads , also
    having three fuses into my amplifiers seems mad , it would be ideal if you could get a mains plug with no fuse , and only the correct rating fuse in the
    components , ive been looking at the viborg ve80

    https://www.hifi-amplifiers.com/en/v...ts-p-5396.html

    fairly cheap and there plugs are
    copper , has anyone used there gear , im not interested in using standard plugs because of the fuse , any bargains out there im missing . there is also the us plug

    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Viborg-Pu...0AAOSwk4ldiYdc

    which looks great , wonder if you can get the female that these fit into . phil.
    Phil.

  2. #2
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 23,536
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanobsession View Post
    Hi folks , im not convinced that mains cables make a difference to sound quality, but think my system deserves better than standard kettle leads , also
    having three fuses into my amplifiers seems mad , it would be ideal if you could get a mains plug with no fuse , and only the correct rating fuse in the
    components , ive been looking at the viborg ve80

    https://www.hifi-amplifiers.com/en/v...ts-p-5396.html

    fairly cheap and there plugs are
    copper , has anyone used there gear , im not interested in using standard plugs because of the fuse , any bargains out there im missing . phil.
    I assume you can buy mains leads with an IEC line socket at one end and a Schuko plug at the other. If you can, then there is no reason why such a distribution board cannot be used. There are similar distribution boards that are fitted with IEC sockets, though finding mains leads with an IEC connector at each end is a little more difficult.
    Barry

  3. #3
    Join Date: Oct 2009

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    Posts: 389
    I'm Phil.

    Default

    Thanks barry , ive just found these

    (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1x-Gaofei...53.m1438.l2649)

    (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/T60-HiFi-...53.m1438.l2649)

    looks very well made , phil
    Phil.

  4. #4
    Join Date: Oct 2016

    Location: Hampshire

    Posts: 306
    I'm Mel.

    Default

    UK plugs never used to be fused until we bought a lot of cheap copper, from South Africa I believe, which went into our houses in around the 70,s. I’m sure many on here will remember the fuseless 2 pin plugs used in the 50s and 60s, much like the common schuko found in Europe. The safe way of dealing with the issues was to add a fuse to each plug as the problem was largely between the mains input and the room sockets.

    It may or may not be safe to rely on the new distribution boxes depending on the age of your property. One thing for sure is if you do not use U.K. fused plugs and a fire results your insurance may not pay out.

    Many houses are also suffering pin holes in copper central heating pipes built in the same period for the same reason.

    We sell leads, plugs and sockets for any country in the world and very few have fused plugs. Earth wires are quite common however, even in Europe - France in particular often uses an earthed schuko plug and socket.

    Mel

  5. #5
    Join Date: Oct 2009

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    Posts: 389
    I'm Phil.

    Default

    Thanks for your advice , i cant see me buying mains cable thats £25 a meter , not when the rest of the house is using twin and earth , i managed to buy 6mm 3 core
    grey flex for about £2.50 a meter before now , phil.
    Phil.

  6. #6
    Join Date: May 2012

    Location: Dagenham Essex

    Posts: 11,040
    I'm Allen.

    Default

    Cable thread , Let me know when its over please
    Please note , I cant spell , now you all know

    TAT Sale post Leader " Marcos Mentor "

    Also a pishanto specialist confirmed by Head Daftee

    Real name " Allen " or "Zoomer Nut”, “Numpty Napper”.

    ±± KEEP IT REEL

  7. #7
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 23,536
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cycleallday View Post
    UK plugs never used to be fused until we bought a lot of cheap copper, from South Africa I believe, which went into our houses in around the 70,s. I’m sure many on here will remember the fuseless 2 pin plugs used in the 50s and 60s, much like the common schuko found in Europe. The safe way of dealing with the issues was to add a fuse to each plug as the problem was largely between the mains input and the room sockets.

    It may or may not be safe to rely on the new distribution boxes depending on the age of your property. One thing for sure is if you do not use U.K. fused plugs and a fire results your insurance may not pay out.

    Many houses are also suffering pin holes in copper central heating pipes built in the same period for the same reason.

    We sell leads, plugs and sockets for any country in the world and very few have fused plugs. Earth wires are quite common however, even in Europe - France in particular often uses an earthed schuko plug and socket.

    Mel
    Fused plugs were introduced along with the ring main system, to save on the cost of copper cable in new installations. Before then a radial system was used with each socket (or at most two) fed by its own cable running back to individual fuses in a central fuse box. The current rating of the plug/socket used was either 2A, 5A or 15A and the pins on all the plugs were round in cross section.

    Obviously a radial system used much more cable (and hence expensive copper), so an alternative scheme was devised for the extensive house rebuilding that occurred in the '50s. In this new scheme a 'ring' of 15A rated cable ran around the house, starting and finishing at the fuse box, to feed all of the sockets, each socket being fed by two cables in a 'daisy chain'. The ring could thus provide over 3kW and was protected with a 30A fuse in the fusebox. To provide protection of any appliance connected to the ring a new design of plug was used which contained a fuse whose rating was applicable for appliance connected.

    At the time it was assumed that 3kW would be ample and that the load would be more or less evenly distributed around the ring. There were other flaws in the idea, which if they occurred might not be obvious, but if the ring was installed properly and the ring main used as intended, these flaws would not happen.

    In the Zambian copper crisis of the '70s, the cost of copper rose considerably, so the use of copper-clad aluminium cable or copper/aluminium alloy cable was trialled. Initially successful, it was later found that owing to the alloy being harder and more brittle than copper, the screw connections of each socket could fail with time. Today the use of poor quality Turkish-sourced copper used in mains wiring is a new cause of concern. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-41391343

    So fused plugs came first with the introduction of the ring main system, and not because of the use of poor quality copper.
    Last edited by Barry; 21-11-2019 at 01:59. Reason: Correction
    Barry

  8. #8
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 23,536
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanobsession View Post
    I would avoid using US style mains connectors, and stick with Schuko types, as the latter have better safety features designed into them.
    Barry

  9. #9
    Join Date: Sep 2011

    Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, Scotland

    Posts: 487
    I'm stuart.

    Default

    You could use an IEC distribution block and use cables with C13 at one end and C14 at the other end. Now the only fuse you will have is in the mains plug which is connected to the IEC distribution block. This is the minimum you can use without getting yourself in to trouble in the event of a fire caused by using plugs with no fuse.
    It really is NOT a sensible idea to have no fused plug and it WILL invalidate your house insurance should a fire happen because you have no fuse. Just for clarity, the fuse in the plug is to protect the cable, not to protect the equipment - the equipment fuse is there to do that job.
    Garrard 401, Jelco 750 with Shuggie, Ortofon 2M Black / ZYX Yatra 100, Project Phono RS with Sigma22 Linear PS, RPi3 + DigiOne + Linear PS, RPi3/1Tb SSD with PiCorePlayer + Linear PS, Perreaux Eloquence 250i 40th Anniversary with ES9038Pro DAC, Monitor Audio PL300, Tannoy Mansfield 15" HPD's.

  10. #10
    Join Date: Nov 2015

    Location: Wolverhampton

    Posts: 10,156
    I'm Oliver.

    Default

    You don't believe mains cables make a difference but you are worried about fuses?

    Can't catch yer breath sometimes.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •