+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Ariston RD 50hz pulley dimensions

  1. #1
    Join Date: Nov 2019

    Location: Kamakura

    Posts: 7
    I'm Matt.

    Default Ariston RD 50hz pulley dimensions

    Hi everyone, as I mentioned in my intro I have a 60hz RD90 I want to convert to 50hz/100v for use in the Tokyo area, without spending too much. I sold off my old RB250 a while back and will need to get a new arm as well, so something like an Origin Live DC upgrade is beyond my budget.

    I havenít had any luck finding a 50hz Ariston pulley so far and have seen mixed things about a Linn being suitable. Plus Linn pulleys seem to be available only with motor. Regas run a much smaller sub-platter, so I know thatís not an option.

    Could anyone with an Ariston RD check the diameter of their 50hz pulley? I believe they all use the same size sub-platter. My calculations predict around 21.6mm for 33rpm, is that correct?

  2. #2
    Join Date: Nov 2019

    Location: Kamakura

    Posts: 7
    I'm Matt.

    Default Sorry, think my notes were wrong, 21.9mm for 33.33?

    Sorry, think my notes were wrong, 21.9mm for 33.33 at 50hz/250rpm?

    Quote Originally Posted by shonan21 View Post
    Hi everyone, as I mentioned in my intro I have a 60hz RD90 I want to convert to 50hz/100v for use in the Tokyo area, without spending too much. I sold off my old RB250 a while back and will need to get a new arm as well, so something like an Origin Live DC upgrade is beyond my budget.

    I havenít had any luck finding a 50hz Ariston pulley so far and have seen mixed things about a Linn being suitable. Plus Linn pulleys seem to be available only with motor. Regas run a much smaller sub-platter, so I know thatís not an option.

    Could anyone with an Ariston RD check the diameter of their 50hz pulley? I believe they all use the same size sub-platter. My calculations predict around 21.6mm for 33rpm, is that correct?

  3. #3
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: West Wales

    Posts: 489
    I'm malcolm.

    Default

    Measured the one from RD80, measured on crown and either side

    Crown 29.34 (28.78)
    Crown 21.52 (20.77)
    Audiophile Tosher

  4. #4
    Join Date: Nov 2019

    Location: Kamakura

    Posts: 7
    I'm Matt.

    Default

    Interesting! Thank you for checking! The RD80 has a flat belt, right?

  5. #5
    Join Date: Mar 2014

    Location: West Wales

    Posts: 489
    I'm malcolm.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shonan21 View Post
    Interesting! Thank you for checking! The RD80 has a flat belt, right?
    Yes a flat belt, although my RD40 has a square one.
    Audiophile Tosher

  6. #6
    Join Date: Nov 2019

    Location: Kamakura

    Posts: 7
    I'm Matt.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by willbewill View Post
    Yes a flat belt, although my RD40 has a square one.
    I see, thanks. My current 60hz RD90 pulley is the square type.

    Iím thinking I may need to look into getting a new pulley machined here in Japan, in which case a typical flat pulley design sounds like the way to go.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Feb 2010

    Location: Bridgend, Wales

    Posts: 162
    I'm James.

    Default

    It's worth experimenting with wrapping your existing pulley with something like Kapton tape. Use a strobe to check the speed and add as many layers as required to slow the platter down by the needed amount. Kapton is a good choice as it will lay even and grip the belt properly, whilst being thin enough to add a precise thickness.
    Nottingham Analogue Spacedeck / Kuzma Stogi S / Benz Micro Ace S L
    Lenco L-75 / Carl Ellis Plinth / Ortofon AS-212 / Ortofon SPU Classic GM E MkII
    Ortofon ST-7 SUT / Nick G Modded Lentek Head Amp / Croft RIAA

    Cambridge Audio CXU / Theta DS Pro Prime

    Classť Model 30 / Luxman M-383

    Usher Compass X-719


    May contain opinions that others find disturbing.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Nov 2019

    Location: Kamakura

    Posts: 7
    I'm Matt.

    Default

    Thanks for the tape recommendation. I thought about trying something like that, but it’s the square belt pulley, which makes it challenging. Might try anyway if I can find some really narrow kapton tape or something similar. But I have a feeling the belt will end up spinning off if it doesn’t have the v-profile pulley. Maybe a flat Ariston belt will work though.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •