+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Musical Fidelity Elektra E100

  1. #1
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: London UK

    Posts: 105
    I'm Dee.

    Default Musical Fidelity Elektra E100

    I have the above integrated amplifier that I have owned from new and was wondering if there’s anybody in or around London who could service it for me and resolve an issue with the volume control knob..
    Thanks Dee
    System... THORENS TD160 Super in Purpose built plinth.

    SME 3009 S2 improved with detachable head ,Van Den Hul hybrid interconnect and rewired by J7 at Audio Origami with Vdh silver wire.

    ARKLESS 640P Phono amp.. Denon dl110 HoMc cartridge....Shure v15 111.

    YAMAHA Cr2020 receiver overhauled and upgraded by Select 45rpm


    Denon dvd 3910(transport) ...Audio Alchemy Digital Decoding Engine

    Tannoy Cheviot speakers ( cones and surround replaced by Lockwood

    TEAC X1000R r2r

  2. #2
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 3,067
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Papa Dee View Post
    I have the above integrated amplifier that I have owned from new and was wondering if there’s anybody in or around London who could service it for me and resolve an issue with the volume control knob..
    Thanks Dee
    What's the problem? I've got some spray that sorts out crackle.

    Sent from my POT-LX1 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: London UK

    Posts: 105
    I'm Dee.

    Default

    Hi Lawrence...yes it’s a crackle that comes when the volume knob is rotated...absolutely no problem once
    a level has been set.I have sprayed it with Servisol Super 10 myself (quite liberally) but to no avail.I was
    advised by Musical Fidelity that this is a common problem with the amp and a part or the knob needs replacing.
    The last time it was serviced .. by Musical Fidelity..they covered everything internally in a white gunk and I would like this removed whilst it’s being checked over. Thanks Dee

  4. #4
    Join Date: Sep 2009

    Location: Bournemouth

    Posts: 4,755
    I'm Dan.

    Default

    Try rotating a few times when powered on with no music passing through. Common problem mine has a wee crackle fine once warmed up..��
    Quad Pre
    Quad 405 Power
    Quad FM4 Tuner
    Kef Reference 103 Speakers
    Cambridge Atlantic & Linn Interconnects & Cable Talk 3.1 Speaker Cable


    Vinyl
    Rega Planar 2 / RB250 / Ortofon OM Super 10 / Van Den Hul Bearing Upgrade

    Other Kit
    Quad 33 303 / Pioneer Precision amp and CD / various others Yamaha / Marantz / Nytech / Kef / Audio Note / Tannoy 615 / DC 1000 + more

  5. #5
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 41,102
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    It's a motorised dual pot I think. If cleaning doesn't quieten it, the pot may need replacing. Alan (Firebottle) may be able to help, but you'd need to ship it to him.
    "when common sense, logic and plausibility are excluded. All that remain are foolishness and lies"

  6. #6
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: London UK

    Posts: 105
    I'm Dee.

    Default

    Yes Geoff..I believe that’s what MF said the problem was...Alan is a bit far away and I’d like to see if there are any
    options closer to home first.Thanks for the heads up though.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 3,067
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Sounds like the same issue with the Arcam Alpha 9 / Delta 290 source selector. Some people get it dismantled and cleaned internally. Not sure if that can be done with this volume knob.

    One solution that would keep you going would be to use a passive pre directly into the power amp in sockets on the back, after first removing the metal links from them. You might actually prefer the sound as well. A second hand Tisbury can be had for £60-80 and isn't bad at all. A bit more and you can get a Khozmo or something.

    Sent from my POT-LX1 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 3,067
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    You could try this for now if you're not fussy about your cables. He might take £15

    https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F254326442418

    Sent from my POT-LX1 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date: Jun 2017

    Location: London UK

    Posts: 105
    I'm Dee.

    Default

    Still looking to have it cleaned of all the white gunk put there by MF and any issues that are raised,resolved.I vaguely remember a member based in London being recommended...no ,highly recommended as a service engineer.If anyone knows of whom I refer to please give me a heads up

  10. #10
    Join Date: Aug 2015

    Location: Leeds

    Posts: 110
    I'm Kevin.

    Default

    You could contact AD audio in south London. You can find him in the trade section of the forum

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •