+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Radio 3 FM Quality.

I'm Michael.

Default Radio 3 FM Quality.

Has any one noticed that Radio 3 sound quality on FM is distorted? The analogy being similar to a cartridge mistracking.
    Radio 4 is fine, Radio 2 suffers a little bit. Online is fine, so is Classic FM on FM. Local radio (Radio WM) is okay on FM.
    Listening on headphones really shows it up. My transmitter is Sutton Coldfield which has “no reported problems” according to the BBC transmitter checker.
    I have complained to the BBC about it, but as yet i haven’t had a reply.

I'm Dennis.

I don't listen to R3, but it is notorious for being at an averagely low level compared with the other BBC stations, and this does present SQ problems. (Used to listen to Late Junction before it was run by fans of smart arses with samplers.)

Optimod is something to consider, it adds artefacts.

Personally, as an ex BBC engineer, I am of the view that they are not bothered about SQ, and I'm not even sure that they have the staff able to produce good sound anyway. I remember just how good it was in the early 70s.

I'm Chris.

Quote Originally Posted by Pharos View Post
    I don't listen to R3, but it is notorious for being at an averagely low level compared with the other BBC stations, and this does present SQ problems. (Used to listen to Late Junction before it was run by fans of smart arses with samplers.)

Optimod is something to consider, it adds artefacts.

Personally, as an ex BBC engineer, I am of the view that they are not bothered about SQ, and I'm not even sure that they have the staff able to produce good sound anyway. I remember just how good it was in the early 70s.
    Perhaps ask the BBC if they have any motivation toward forming a consultative group. A national broadcaster always needs community direction with what it does,
    and this suggests as a very good example.

I'm Martin.