+ Reply to Thread

Thread: PI Katana DAC advice needed.

I'm ian.

Default PI Katana DAC advice needed.

Hi Guys.
    I have purchased a Katana DAC (not arrived yet) it is pre loaded with Diet pi and Roon.

I am currently ripping and streaming from a Vortexbox OS 2.4 (installed onto a Intel Atom D525 1.8 Ghz dual-core CPU) using LMS, this is connected to an AV amp via coax.
    I have bought the Katana to connect to my 2 channel system and hopefully achieve much better sound quality.

The advice I need is which OS/distro would be best suited to get my music files from the Vortexbox over Ethernet to the Katana.

Any help will be much appreciated, I am new to streaming and the PI world so go a bit easy please.
    Thanks

I'm Twisted.

Hi. I’m not familiar with dietpi or roon - so it’s possible you will already have all you need.

My preference (and what I do with a similar set up) is to use Picoreplayer (as an alternative to DietPi) to drive the katana/pi. It will be able to see the LMS on your vortexbox.

Using picore will give you some digital EQ (useful) and filter controls (I can’t tell much difference) over the katana

You can control the whole set up using iPeng (apple) or orange squeeze/ squeezecommander (if it’s still going) on Android.

Make sense?
    Simon

MINI DSP SHD; Longdog 300b; Reiver Fenwicks

Twitter @siashmore

I'm ian.

Thanks for the info Simon, I will have a good read up on Picoreplayer.

I'm Twisted.

No problem. My experience is that Picore is rock solid and easy to use. When I have had need to call for help (because I’m an idiot) the developer has always been very responsive.
    Simon

Twitter @siashmore

I'm ian.

Thanks Simon.
    It seems like the Picore is the way to go for me then.
    Do you need to add a monitor and keyboard for the initial setup?
    What are your thoughts on your Katana? the one I have bought has the isolator too, with 2 power supplies (1 pi and one ifi iPower) how many power supplies are you using?