+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: LiTe DAC-AH DAC Issue....

  1. #1
    Join Date: Jan 2019

    Location: Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom

    Posts: 191
    I'm Russell.

    Default LiTe DAC-AH DAC Issue....

    Iíve got an issue with my DAC - itís emitting a very high pitch squeal which I canít get to bottom of???

    It happens whenever itís switched on & connected to my amp, regardless of input or indeed if there is no coax or optical source connected.

    The DAC still works & if the music is quite loud, you obviously donít hear the hi pitch noise however in quiet passages or in between tracks itís quite annoying.

    Iíve attached an image of the DAC for reference & have tried all different cables (power & interconnects) but the noise is still there. Anyone got any ideas????


  2. #2
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 6,253
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    I have one of these that I modified many years ago. I cannot now remember what the mod was for but involved replacing or adding some resistors to counter an imbalance in something or other. Really helpful I hear you say! I do always keep paper copies of long internet threads for this sort of thing and I will have it somewhere.

    So far as your squeal is concerned. The LiTe does not have a signal lock-on LED and so it is not easy to tell if the Dig signal is good or not. I seem to remember having similar with an old Dac which was linked to the Dig signal. I am not sure that having a look inside the case will give you any pointers. It could be the CS8414 Digital Receiver has a fault, but don't quote me on that.

    There is a thread on Diyaudio about noise which it seems turned out to be 2 faulty Dac chips. It seems that these ran a lot hotter than the others. I have not had this problem with mine. This thread also talks about "the resistor" mod which I assume is what I mentioned above. I will try to find the details.

    EDIT: Details of the resistor mod HERE
    https://www.head-fi.org/threads/circ...sy-fix.198589/
    Last edited by Puffin; 08-06-2019 at 13:24.
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

    https://youtu.be/ZCBe7-6rw4M

  3. #3
    Join Date: Jan 2019

    Location: Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom

    Posts: 191
    I'm Russell.

    Default

    Thanks for your detailed reply, Iíll take a look at the mods etc for this DAC but after some more investigation Its definitely an interference issue as itís working fine in another system in a different part of the house.
    Think the electrics here are very prone to background noise as get problems in my main system downstairs with DC, static, ground loops etc. Good job Iím moving soon!
    Now, how to go about fixing this problem...,

  4. #4
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 6,253
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    The resistor mod it seems was to reduce the current going to the Dac chips as the resistors as standard were incorrect. I did carry out the passive mod (removing the op-amps) and adding some fancy caps to the output.as this was said to make the Dac better/smoother/more analogue. It didn't sound any worse, but I eventually returned it to stock by replacing the op-amps.
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

    https://youtu.be/ZCBe7-6rw4M

  5. #5
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 2,812
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Weeman1973 View Post
    Thanks for your detailed reply, Iíll take a look at the mods etc for this DAC but after some more investigation Its definitely an interference issue as itís working fine in another system in a different part of the house.
    Think the electrics here are very prone to background noise as get problems in my main system downstairs with DC, static, ground loops etc. Good job Iím moving soon!
    Now, how to go about fixing this problem...,
    Have you tried another dac in the problem system to confirm it's not the source? Is there any noise when the source is turned off? Never come across this before but might be worth testing for grounding issues? If possible also try toslink optical to see if it also has the noise.

    Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date: Sep 2017

    Location: Dublin

    Posts: 262
    I'm Pavel.

    Default

    If there is a wi-fi router nearby, its interference can manifest itself as high-pitched noise.

    Ask me how I know

  7. #7
    Join Date: Jun 2015

    Location: London/Durham

    Posts: 2,812
    I'm Lawrence.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shovel_Knight View Post
    If there is a wi-fi router nearby, its interference can manifest itself as high-pitched noise.

    Ask me how I know
    Good call

    Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

+ Reply to Thread



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •