+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Low quality signal to harm the speakers?

  1. #1
    Join Date: Sep 2018

    Location: Estonia

    Posts: 16
    I'm Veiko.

    Default Low quality signal to harm the speakers?

    Hello!

    I have noticed that some audio-fans don't connect their TV-s to their
    precious sound systems.
    This makes me wonder, do they/YOU(?) consider this to potentially damage their
    pricey speakers, considering that the signal from TV may not be as
    good as say from the CD-player?
    The audio signal I get from my TV is definitely very poor.
    It comes via internet to "box" then via scart to TV, then via RCA to Receiver.
    I am also experiencing occasional cracklings and bass-thumps from speakers when operating
    the TV, say turning it off/on.

    I have no fancy speakers but would you warn against such practice?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Valley of the Hazels

    Posts: 8,760
    I'm AMusicFanNotAnAudiophile.

    Default

    I've had my TV connected to the audio gear for years, without problems.
    It's a great way of bypassing the crappy TV audio internals.
    In my case the TV has a Toslink out, so that is connected to my external DAC, which also has my Squeezebox Touch connected to it.

    That is 95% of my audio playback on just one amplifier input - the other input I use is for my turntable setup.
    I don't have problems with cracks and bangs.
    If I did have such problems I would switch inputs or at least mute the amplifier output before doing anything with the TV. A remote controllable amp is a godsend in such instances.
    Chris



    Common sense isn't anymore!

  3. #3
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 25,149
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    unless the sound is heavily distorted and cranked up loud you're not going to damage the speakers.


    I use HDMI from box to telly then optical cable from telly to amplifier (with built in DAC). Most channels don't have a cd quality sound feed but they all sound acceptable. Although I still miss NICAM, that gave a great sound IMO.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Technics SLP1200 CD Player * Nelson Pass DCB1 Pre amp / Krell KSA50S Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *


    'You fool! To think that your ape-brain could contain the full knowledge of the Krell!'

  4. #4
    Join Date: Sep 2018

    Location: Estonia

    Posts: 16
    I'm Veiko.

    Default

    Thank you so much.
    The distortion however sometimes happens.
    A family member uses the box remote, and tunes the volume down - then another member likes the receiver remote, and tunes it way up on receiver - and she pushes it way up, if the box is at minimum volume.
    Then she calls on me and says: "whats wrong with the sound?" - The sound has picked up a lot of electric noise. I think I will do smth with the box remote, I will disable it somehow.
    I have been trying to use "one4all" remote, I think I will give another go.

    Thank you so much again for your time!!

  5. #5
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 25,149
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    I think your family member is telling you that they want a more powerful home cinema system
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Technics SLP1200 CD Player * Nelson Pass DCB1 Pre amp / Krell KSA50S Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *


    'You fool! To think that your ape-brain could contain the full knowledge of the Krell!'

  6. #6
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Sheffield - UK

    Posts: 6,383
    I'm Mark.

    Default

    The reason I donít have sources like my phone or TV connected to my hi-fi isnít because they will do any harm, itís just that they sound awful!

    100% Analogue

  7. #7
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Sheffield - UK

    Posts: 6,383
    I'm Mark.

    Default

    Oh, the distortion you are sometimes getting is because you effectively have two volume controls, and amplifiers, in series in the system - turn the source one up to maximum and use the other to actually adjust the volume - don't use a combination of both.

    100% Analogue

  8. #8
    Join Date: Feb 2008

    Location: Middlesex, UK

    Posts: 3,989
    I'm Alex.

    Default

    Going back many decades, TVs might have had what they called a live chassis. In this case, one side of the mains (hopefully neutral) is connected to the TV chassis.

    This would make connecting an external speaker or speaker / amplifier pretty dangerous. I used to do this safely using an isolating transformer.
    Spendorman

  9. #9
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 55,283
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spendorman View Post
    Going back many decades, TVs might have had what they called a live chassis. In this case, one side of the mains (hopefully neutral) is connected to the TV chassis.

    This would make connecting an external speaker or speaker / amplifier pretty dangerous. I used to do this safely using an isolating transformer.
    yup, you had issues with connecting a scope too philips made one that had a tendancy to give you shocks or blow up if you were not careful... probably late 70's early 80's
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/PROJECT PHONOBOX DS2 USB - QUAD VENA 2 - IFI PURIFIER 2/TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK POWER AMPLIFIERS - LEAF HD BLUETOOTH - OPPO PM-3 PLANAR, SONY H900 & NURAPHONE HEADPHONES - ZBOOK/WIN10 PRO/AUDIRVANA 3 PLUS/TIDAL - SMSL M6 DAC & IFI SILENCER - RPI 3+, DIGIONE HAT/VOLUMIO2 - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN SPEAKERS - CABLE INC CHORD, MOGAMI, SUPRA & WIREWORLD

    **Men are not punished for their sins, but by them**
    ***SMILE, BE HAPPY***

  10. #10
    Join Date: Mar 2013

    Location: nottingham

    Posts: 321
    I'm nigel.

    Default

    If your TV box has a digital output, Virgin has optical...Sky both optical and coaxial, you can purchase a DAC from Amazon for less than 30 quid which will give a much improved sound quality.
    You could, of course connect via your TV's optical out....most TV's made over the past 12 years have one.
    Your box will likely have a setting buried deep in the menus to adjust sound delay if you experience lip synch issues

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •