+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Amplifiers for single driver speakers

I'm Steve.

Default Amplifiers for single driver speakers

Hi,
    I'm a newbie here and have just finished building my first DIY speakers - a large bass reflex cabinet with 10" Audirvana drivers (their Super 10 Ferrite's $350).
    I have zero experience with a soldering iron so single drivers seemed the way to go.
    I am so pleased and genuinely surprised at the sound quality so have been trying a couple of different amplifiers with them.
    So far a Decware Taboo and a Clones Audio 25irh. Both are sounding good but wondered whether anyone had any other suggestions.
    They are extremely efficient at about 99dB so don't need many watts. they go 34Hz to nearly 20kHz. My room is only 8' x 16' and I don't listen loud. Classical with a bit of jazz. Budget up to about £750.
    Any thoughts gratefully received.

Steve

I'm Lawrence.

Not sure what their topology is but single ended triode seems the obvious match.

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

Location: Banbury, Oxfordshire/Panteg is where my late father was born

I'm Chris.

Puresound A10 or A30, you can find the A30 second hand for around £750
    Chris

We've gone on holiday by mistake !

I'm Steve.

When you get your hands on that Amptastic Mini 1, you'll probably be able to search for another amp at your leisure, and hang on for a good deal. In fact the Amptastic may be all you need, it's that good. I have used mine with my Zu speakers (also about 100dB) and they go to decent levels.

But £750 would buy a decent s/h valve amp, output not important really with your speakers.
    I just dropped in, to see what condition my condition was in

T/T: Inspire Monarch, X200 tonearm, Ortofon Quintet Blue. Phono: Project Tube Box CD: Marantz CD6006 (UK Edition); Amp: Musical Fidelity A5 Integrated.
    Speakers: Zu Omen Def, REL T9i subwoofer. Cables: Atlas Equator interconnects, Atlas Hyper 3.0 speaker cables