+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 63

Thread: Ethernet cables

  1. #1
    Join Date: Jan 2013

    Location: Birmingham

    Posts: 4,832
    I'm James.

    Default Ethernet cables

    Anyone recommend an Ethernet cable supplier - thanks.
    VPI Scout 1.1 - Ortofon 2M Black FGS - Croft 25R+ - Croft Series 7 - Spendor SP2

  2. #2
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 58,340
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Last one i got was a Duronic WE 10m Network Cable CAT6a Ethernet LAN Patch Cat 6 A RJ45 Wire Gigabit FTP Gold Headed Shielded - High Speed 600MHz .... nice quality... amazon supplied it.https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/PROJECT PHONOBOX DS2 USB - QUAD VENA 2 - IFI PURIFIER 2/TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK POWER AMPLIFIERS - LEAF HD BLUETOOTH - OPPO PM-3 PLANAR, SONY H900 & NURAPHONE HEADPHONES - ZBOOK/ IFI SILENCER/WIN10 PRO/AUDIRVANA 3 PLUS/TIDAL - SMSL M6 DAC & IFI SILENCER - RPI 3+, DIGIONE HAT/VOLUMIO2 - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN SPEAKERS - CABLE INC CHORD, MOGAMI, SUPRA & WIREWORLD

    **Men are not punished for their sins, but by them**
    ***SMILE, BE HAPPY***

  3. #3
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Much Wenlock

    Posts: 1,006
    I'm Gary.

    Default

    Remember to maintain the Cat status performance the minimum bend radius should be maintained

    Gary
    It is easier to seek forgiveness than to ask permission

    Rules are meant for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men

  4. #4
    Join Date: Jan 2013

    Location: Birmingham

    Posts: 4,832
    I'm James.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by struth View Post
    Last one i got was a Duronic WE 10m Network Cable CAT6a Ethernet LAN Patch Cat 6 A RJ45 Wire Gigabit FTP Gold Headed Shielded - High Speed 600MHz .... nice quality... amazon supplied it.https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    VPI Scout 1.1 - Ortofon 2M Black FGS - Croft 25R+ - Croft Series 7 - Spendor SP2

  5. #5
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: U.S.A. Neo-Socialist Kalifornski

    Posts: 2,850

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimbo View Post
    James,
    That looks like very nice cable.
    I have been using CAT 7 because it is supposed to be better shielded , each wire in its own mylar jacket ,less cross talk and better RFI rejection .
    What I have found is early CAT 7 can be 27 awg and newer is 26 awg. as there is no regulation or cable standards for CAT 7 for the telecommunications industry and no official specs so buyer beware ,It is supposed to support up to 600mhz. Is it any better than your CAT 6A probably not and doesn't matter,it's fast enough for my sons gaming computer.

    CAT 8 coming soon!

    https://planetechusa.com/blog/ethern...-cat7-vs-cat8/

    This looks good. https://www.amazon.com/Ethernet-Shin...CQ7622EYXKK18P
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by goraman; 13-02-2019 at 05:32.
    Jeff :UBERTHREADKILLER

  6. #6
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Valley of the Hazels

    Posts: 8,907
    I'm AMusicFanNotAnAudiophile.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goraman View Post
    I have been using CAT 7 because it is supposed to be better shielded
    Shielding means diddly if it isn't properly referenced to ground!
    If it ain't properly referenced to ground it's called an aerial.
    It needs to be referenced to your CMET.

    What you need to create is a Faraday Shield, and without an appropriate ground connection you do not make one.
    Chris



    Common sense isn't anymore!

  7. #7
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: U.S.A. Neo-Socialist Kalifornski

    Posts: 2,850

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stratmangler View Post
    Shielding means diddly if it isn't properly referenced to ground!
    If it ain't properly referenced to ground it's called an aerial.
    It needs to be referenced to your CMET.

    What you need to create is a Faraday Shield, and without an appropriate ground connection you do not make one.
    Chris ,
    Sorry but shielding dose NOT have to be shunted to ground to be effective.
    Shielding can work with no connection to anything what so ever.
    I learned this in Armature radio years ago , and mylar can be very effective at rejecting RF .
    In fact so can a well placed Ferrite RF choke that is also ungrounded.
    In the case of mylar it simply reflects RF away from the signal wire, think of it as a physical barrier like a brick wall .
    Jeff :UBERTHREADKILLER

  8. #8
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Valley of the Hazels

    Posts: 8,907
    I'm AMusicFanNotAnAudiophile.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by goraman View Post
    Chris ,
    Sorry but shielding dose NOT have to be shunted to ground to be effective.
    Shielding can work with no connection to anything what so ever.
    I learned this in Armature radio years ago , and mylar can be very effective at rejecting RF .
    If you look at the Cat6A and Cat7 spec, you'll see that it's an integral part of the spec.
    Chris



    Common sense isn't anymore!

  9. #9
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: U.S.A. Neo-Socialist Kalifornski

    Posts: 2,850

    Default

    I am not saying it isn't grounded , I am just saying mylar can be used as a shield with no ground.
    Jeff :UBERTHREADKILLER

  10. #10
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: Valley of the Hazels

    Posts: 8,907
    I'm AMusicFanNotAnAudiophile.

    Default

    I'd be much more concerned about the induced RFI from the SMPS that power network devices, to be honest.
    Chris



    Common sense isn't anymore!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •