+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Power Amp Help/Advice Needed

  1. #1
    Join Date: May 2014

    Location: Solihull

    Posts: 514
    I'm Martin.

    Default Power Amp Help/Advice Needed

    I have a Sirius (Gamut) D100 power amp which is a dual mono single mosfet model
    Two nights ago whilst warming the system up prior to listening all power went off and by the time I got a torch the room was filling with acrid smoke.
    I took the lid off the amp and found one of the transformers insulation was burnt and discoloured and stank!!!
    The power caps appear to be unmarked.
    Some pics below










    Some of these are with flash and some normal.
    What are members opinion when something like this happens?
    With a transformer gone would repair be a cost effective option,presumably with dual mono both transformers would need to be replaced??
    Any engineers opinion welcome

    BTW how do I test my speakers to see if there is any damage there? There was nothing playing and my RDC tripped everything out PDQ
    HELP
    Tangerine LP12,Naim Aro, Benz Wood
    Audiomeca Talisman Highly Modded
    Audiomeca Kreatura &,SW1X DAC1
    Hovland HP100 MC
    SiriuS D100
    Quad FM4,RWA Cassabria + LCD 3
    Wilson Benesch Actors
    Cables by Cardas, Hovland G3 and Yter

  2. #2
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Notts

    Posts: 2,227
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    What are members opinion when something like this happens?

    Put new batteries in your smoke detectors!


    Seriously though, shouldn't an expensive and powerful amp like that have some built in safety features like thermal cutout?


    Geoff

  3. #3
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 40,508
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Speak to Alan (Firebottle), he's near you. He can probably advise and may repair too. If it was me, I'd replace both transformers with matched new items.

  4. #4
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 56,876
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    assuming a short somewhere so will need looked at before a new tx is fitted..surprised if no fuse was fitted inside. but its another reminder that you need to be in attendance when gear is on.
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/PROJECT PHONOBOX DS2 USB - QUAD VENA 2 - IFI PURIFIER 2/TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK POWER AMPLIFIERS - LEAF HD BLUETOOTH - OPPO PM-3 PLANAR, SONY H900 & NURAPHONE HEADPHONES - ZBOOK/ IFI SILENCER/WIN10 PRO/AUDIRVANA 3 PLUS/TIDAL - SMSL M6 DAC & IFI SILENCER - RPI 3+, DIGIONE HAT/VOLUMIO2 - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN SPEAKERS - CABLE INC CHORD, MOGAMI, SUPRA & WIREWORLD

    **Men are not punished for their sins, but by them**
    ***SMILE, BE HAPPY***

  5. #5
    Join Date: Dec 2008

    Location: Lincolnshire, Home by the Sea

    Posts: 4,411
    I'm Shaun.

    Default

    Wouldn't an event like this have drawn a huge current from the mains..? If so then why no fuse or other protection device..? I truly feel for you, this is the kind of thing no one wants to face with any kind of gear let alone very expensive gear.

  6. #6
    Join Date: May 2014

    Location: Solihull

    Posts: 514
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sherwood View Post
    What are members opinion when something like this happens?

    Put new batteries in your smoke detectors!


    Seriously though, shouldn't an expensive and powerful amp like that have some built in safety features like thermal cutout?


    Geoff
    Quote Originally Posted by struth View Post
    assuming a short somewhere so will need looked at before a new tx is fitted..surprised if no fuse was fitted inside. but its another reminder that you need to be in attendance when gear is on.
    Quote Originally Posted by Haselsh1 View Post
    Wouldn't an event like this have drawn a huge current from the mains..? If so then why no fuse or other protection device..? I truly feel for you, this is the kind of thing no one wants to face with any kind of gear let alone very expensive gear.
    I too am surprised by the lack of fuse on the case, but reading the Owners Guide it mentions some serious circuit protection which I do not understand which I think is aimed at muting the output signal.
    Thank the Lord for my domestic RDC
    Tangerine LP12,Naim Aro, Benz Wood
    Audiomeca Talisman Highly Modded
    Audiomeca Kreatura &,SW1X DAC1
    Hovland HP100 MC
    SiriuS D100
    Quad FM4,RWA Cassabria + LCD 3
    Wilson Benesch Actors
    Cables by Cardas, Hovland G3 and Yter

  7. #7
    Join Date: Nov 2018

    Location: Grimsby

    Posts: 175
    I'm David.

    Default

    Sorry to hear this, should never happen to an amp of this quality. Inform the importer.

  8. #8
    Join Date: Oct 2012

    Location: The Black Country

    Posts: 4,948
    I'm Alan.

    Default

    Hi Martin,
    I am very surprised there isn't an internal fuse. I can take a look and repair it with pleasure, it sounds to me as if a rectifier could have failed and put a short or partial short on the transformer.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Apr 2018

    Location: Cornwall

    Posts: 197
    I'm Dominic.

    Default

    It's not uncommon for mains transformers to have shorted turns and burn out, so probably a new one will get the power amp working once more.
    CD player = Vincent
    Pre amp = Rotel RA03
    Power amp = Lyngdorf SDA 2175
    Speaks = Quadral Chromium Style 6

  10. #10
    Join Date: May 2014

    Location: Solihull

    Posts: 514
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ovlov854 View Post
    I too am surprised by the lack of fuse on the case, but reading the Owners Guide it mentions some serious circuit protection which I do not understand which I think is aimed at muting the output signal.
    Thank the Lord for my domestic RDC
    Further update:-
    I was perplexed that I could not find a fuse on the Sirius so I consulted the blurb and yes I found a 2.5 slow blow fuse so neat that I had missed it
    The blurb said that the fuse would go when power consumption reaches 600 watts
    The fuse is intact but the RDC tripped everything out before the fuse went

    The moral of the story is make sure you have a decent RDC
    Some folks say that an RDC can have a negative effect on hifi sound but there are models that are better than others (consult Uncle Russ in the North) !!!!
    Tangerine LP12,Naim Aro, Benz Wood
    Audiomeca Talisman Highly Modded
    Audiomeca Kreatura &,SW1X DAC1
    Hovland HP100 MC
    SiriuS D100
    Quad FM4,RWA Cassabria + LCD 3
    Wilson Benesch Actors
    Cables by Cardas, Hovland G3 and Yter

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •