+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Tube suggestion for Woo WA6 SE headphone amp?

I'm Daniel.

Default Tube suggestion for Woo WA6 SE headphone amp?

Just ordered a Woo WA6 SE headphone amp. Will use it with some Grado 500e. I like the rather analytical sound of Grado. For headphones I tried Grado from 60 through 325 (incremental improvements), B&W something (mush), Focal Elear (dull), MacIntosh MPH 1000 (close to the grados but WAY more expensive). On the amp side I auditioned a Macintosh MHA150 (nice but don't need a speaker amp), an Audeeze Deckard (too analytical, and don't need a DAC), and a Woo WA6 (without SE). I selected the WA6SE for flexibility and possible later upgrade path. I listen to a wide variety from medieval and baroque through indie & punk to electronica (no regular rock/pop or jazz/classical), both from vinyl as well as digital sources.

I read that the stock tubes on the WA6 SE are a not highly rated. I am completely new to tubes and "tube rolling" so could use some pointers in the right direction. I understand that Woo has a limited list of approved tubes, so do not want to venture outside of those and risk invalidating warranty. I also do not know how much of a difference different tubes make. Is it more like the incremental changes in the Grado series, or is it night & day as say Grado vs. Focal or B&W headphones? And what are the contributions of the driver vs rectifier tubes to sound?

Thanks for your help in that matter.

I'm Justin.

Edit: deleted bad advice. Thought it used 6080.

I'm paul.

Quote Originally Posted by Exophile View Post