+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Interconnect Cable Advice for a DAC

I'm John.

Default Interconnect Cable Advice for a DAC

I have took the plunge and took a punt on a DAC that has valves as part of the circuitry.
    The device is on route to the UK at present.
    I am very very new to such a method of music replay, so want to give this device a chance that does not do it a dis-service.
    Any thoughts shared on how to support it as a replay device especially if a particular type of interconnect cable will be beneficial and any other supporting devices will be much appreciated.

I'm Brian.

Which DAC is it John ?
    Regards
    Brian

Sell your cleverness and buy bewilderment . (Rumi )

Korus Computer Audio music server
    JustBoom DAC . HRT Musicstreamer 2
    Amplifier : Sony TA FB740R
    Speakers : Tannoy 637
    Interconnects : MS Audio / Klotz MC5000 .
    Speaker cables : Western Electric 16AG

I'm John.

Quote Originally Posted by brian2957 View Post
    Which DAC is it John ?
    It is a model produced by the designer of the VAS Phonostage.
    It is a upgraded/refurbished version of a previous model that both he and another designer worked on.
    I know it is a TDA1541A, which has valve rectification and Valve Output stage. It has a reference to SPD DIF, I am awaiting further info ???.

I'm Brian.

I'm afraid the interconnects can be a ' suck it and see' affair . I'm a fan of copper interconnects for digital systems , however , when you add valves into the equation things can change .
    Regards
    Brian

I'm Neil.

First off, cables make a tiny difference. It is there, but nowhere near as significant as a component change.

Secondly I also use a TDA1541A DAC, I use a pair of LFD Grainless interconnects, but you can try some ‘PC-OCC’ cables at much lower price than these. Also consider some Van Damme LC-OFC as a reference cable at a very good price.