+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Photos of my garden

I'm Ben.

Default Photos of my garden

This has been the first year we (wife & I) have really put some effort into our back garden. We've owned our house for 6 years now and have usually really just maintained the boarders and grass that we inherited from the previous owners.

What started this project off was that about 3 months ago I was wandering around site (I'm a surveyor working on a mixture of commercial projects at any one time) and I noticed we had a load of scaffold boards that would be getting skipped. The thought of some free materials got me thinking and id soon decided to rip out the horrible garden hedge we had and replace it with a raised planter with the idea of growing some vegetables.

After I'd filled the planter with a mixture of topsoil (again a free-bie from site) and compost we planted a mixture of courgettes, carrots, onions, beetroot, butternut squash, runner beans and I think some lemon grass.

I then realised that I still had a load of scaffold boards left over and I could probably just about make a decked area out of them to provide a nice space for BBQ'ing and outdoor dining. This tied in with replacing our ageing shed with a new one and eventually lead to fitting a smoked polycarbonate roof to keep the rain off as well. All of this was done by my own fair hands with a few tools and a lot of looking at youtube videos and talking to guys on sites for inspiration / advice.