+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Do I need a better interconnect?

  1. #1
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Portugal

    Posts: 217
    I'm Nuno.

    Default Do I need a better interconnect?

    Hi,
    I have a Rega Planar 2/Rega Fono MM and a Densen B 110 amplifier.The interconnect is a Qed performance Šudio 2(50£). So my question: will I get better results with a Chord Clearway interconnect(100£)?It has a best buy award What Hi Fi 2017

  2. #2
    Join Date: May 2018

    Location: west yorkshire

    Posts: 16
    I'm ADRIAN.

    Default

    It is always best to try some from a good dealer , then select from those you have tried, I have found.
    You could well spend double and find it sounds different and not especially better
    This is my personal finding

  3. #3
    Join Date: Apr 2018

    Location: Cornwall

    Posts: 114
    I'm Dominic.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nbaptista View Post
    Hi,
    I have a Rega Planar 2/Rega Fono MM and a Densen B 110 amplifier.The interconnect is a Qed performance Šudio 2(50£). So my question: will I get better results with a Chord Clearway interconnect(100£)?It has a best buy award What Hi Fi 2017
    I always take What Hi-Fi's awards with a huge pinch of salt.

    I personally don't rate either QED's or Chord's cables at all.

    Bought a pair of these Edge cables recently and very impressed by them too, especially so for the asking price https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/EDGE-1m-P...72.m2749.l2649
    CD player = Vincent
    Pre amp = Rotel RA03
    Power amp = Lyngdorf SDA 2175
    Speaks = Quadral Chromium Style 6

  4. #4
    Join Date: Oct 2017

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 50
    I'm Mick.

    Default

    I suggest getting a soldering iron and constructing your own.
    Most of my cables are DIY, Ive found its a good way of experimenting, and a cheap way of getting the most out of you system.
    A cable may sound good in one position in your system but move it somewhere else and it spoils the sound.
    I prefer silver cables, solid or silver plated copper.

  5. #5
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Much Wenlock

    Posts: 646
    I'm Gary.

    Default

    Agree with Mick and Dominic.

    Ignore What Hi Fi recommendations.

    Use eBay to buy CarboKab 225 cable and Star Line Silver RCA plugs.

    Will cost you around £30

  6. #6
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Sheffield - UK

    Posts: 6,050
    I'm Mark.

    Default

    Those Edge ones on eBay do look remarkable value at just £15 for a 1 metre pair!

    100% Analogue

  7. #7
    Join Date: Apr 2018

    Location: Cornwall

    Posts: 114
    I'm Dominic.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by YNWaN View Post
    Those Edge ones on eBay do look remarkable value at just £15 for a 1 metre pair!
    They saw off a £300 pair no bother
    CD player = Vincent
    Pre amp = Rotel RA03
    Power amp = Lyngdorf SDA 2175
    Speaks = Quadral Chromium Style 6

  8. #8
    Join Date: Nov 2015

    Location: Wolverhampton

    Posts: 5,866
    I'm Oliver.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nbaptista View Post
    Hi,
    I have a Rega Planar 2/Rega Fono MM and a Densen B 110 amplifier.The interconnect is a Qed performance Šudio 2(50£). So my question: will I get better results with a Chord Clearway interconnect(100£)?It has a best buy award What Hi Fi 2017
    Do you need some? Maybe,

    Do you want some? Maybe

    Theres a loan list for the SPOTFIRE cable I make, why not look it up, join it and have a listen and see if you NEED some new cables. As it's a loan, there's no obligation and you can see how your cables compare. All for free!!!!!

    Analogue: Technics SP10 MK2 > Phonomac AT-1010 MK5 tonearm > Ortofon Kontrapunkt b > Wizard Jfet MC Valve Phonostage (Telefunken & Tesla Valves)
    Digital: NONE
    Amplification: Nelson Pass DCB1 & Monarchy Audio SM-70 Class A Amplifier
    Cables: Fisual S-Flex Speaker Cable & SPOTFIRE IC Cables & NEW SPOTFIRE Tonearm cable
    Speakers: Pioneer CS-77A

  9. #9
    Join Date: Jan 2014

    Location: london se6

    Posts: 186
    I'm Andy.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigman80 View Post
    Do you need some? Maybe,

    Do you want some? Maybe

    Theres a loan list for the SPOTFIRE cable I make, why not look it up, join it and have a listen and see if you NEED some new cables. As it's a loan, there's no obligation and you can see how your cables compare. All for free!!!!!


    You should do this , opened my eyes for sure as to the difference cables can make, the Spotfires are really good. Can lead to a lot of wishful thinking though!

  10. #10
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Portugal

    Posts: 217
    I'm Nuno.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stryder5 View Post

    Ignore What Hi Fi recommendations.
    Yes, indeed. BTW, this Qed is a good cable, doesnīt matter if is cheap. I guess I will buy a few more records, and forget the cable story...

+ Reply to Thread



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •