+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Amp Switch (2 amps into 1 Set of Speakers)

  1. #21
    Join Date: Feb 2008

    Location: http://www.homehifi.co.uk

    Posts: 6,111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pepperamip View Post
    I'll do this Stanley, thanks, by one for each RCA do you mean both ends connect to the one socket?
    Each resistor should be connected from the signal pin to the ground pin on the same connector. If you want to, email me and I can send you a diagram back attached to the email.

  2. #22
    Join Date: Dec 2015

    Location: Leeds

    Posts: 25
    I'm ian.

    Default

    I am interested in the progress of this idea.
    I run two systems in one room; AV system and a system for stereo. I am sick of unplugging and replugging everytime I go from system to system.
    I was originally trying to figure out how to implement a home theatre bypass, but an amp switching facility would suffice.
    StanleyB I like the look of your basic unit and the idea of the dummy load. How does this work in practice?

  3. #23
    Join Date: Jul 2017

    Location: Kent

    Posts: 43
    I'm Paul.

    Default

    Morning all, just thought I'd give an update on the progress of my speaker wire switch.

    The parts I was waiting on arrived from China and seem well made to my un-trained eye. I also found the MDF I was using way too thick for the front and back panels so I cut out 2 pieces of ply wood instead.

    Here's the front and back of the front panel with the on>off>on switch wired in:
    20180408_111315.jpg20180408_111309.jpg

    And here's the back panel with the gold plated (questionable) speaker binding posts. Theres a bit too much space between each set of 4 for my liking but hopefully only an issue aesthetically.
    20180408_111407.jpg20180408_111425.jpg

    I'll post up some final pics once the binding posts are wired in and it's all been screwed together.

  4. #24
    Join Date: Feb 2008

    Location: http://www.homehifi.co.uk

    Posts: 6,111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by daddydj View Post
    I am interested in the progress of this idea.
    I run two systems in one room; AV system and a system for stereo. I am sick of unplugging and replugging everytime I go from system to system.
    I was originally trying to figure out how to implement a home theatre bypass, but an amp switching facility would suffice.
    StanleyB I like the look of your basic unit and the idea of the dummy load. How does this work in practice?
    You press the two switches on the TC-7210 (Left and Right speakers) to switch over between amps. That's how simple it is . It's quickly becoming popular with valve amp owners since valve amps need a load at all times.

  5. #25
    Join Date: Feb 2008

    Location: http://www.homehifi.co.uk

    Posts: 6,111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pepperamip View Post
    Morning all, just thought I'd give an update on the progress of my speaker wire switch.
    That's looking great Paul. Any idea what finish you'll give to the wood?

  6. #26
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Much Wenlock

    Posts: 637
    I'm Gary.

    Default

    If you have front pre-out on A/V amp connect interconnects from the pre-amp to an input on the stereo amp, remove front speaker leads from A/V amp and connect to speaker terminals on stereo amp, turn everything on, match the volume of A/V amp and stereo, volume will now be controlled by A/V amp.



    Quote Originally Posted by daddydj View Post
    I am interested in the progress of this idea.
    I run two systems in one room; AV system and a system for stereo. I am sick of unplugging and replugging everytime I go from system to system.
    I was originally trying to figure out how to implement a home theatre bypass, but an amp switching facility would suffice.
    StanleyB I like the look of your basic unit and the idea of the dummy load. How does this work in practice?

  7. #27
    Join Date: Jul 2017

    Location: Kent

    Posts: 43
    I'm Paul.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StanleyB View Post
    That's looking great Paul. Any idea what finish you'll give to the wood?
    Thanks Stanley. Prob not that visible in my pics but I've used some vinyl wrap type sticky back plastic and it's your staple hifi black marble (like all hifi cases should be made from Actually doesn't look as bad as it sounds but luckily it will be hidden away out of sight.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •