+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 97

Thread: Sony UBP-X800 4K Blu-ray player in DA HOUSE!

  1. #71
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 47,213
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Looks similar and has similar spec. It monoprice might be better made. As you say trial may prove it. Some say there is no differences possible but they say that about lots of things
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/EMOTIVA XPS1/12V BATTERY - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP\WE TUBED - TWIN AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTHS - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10, AUDIRVANA 3 PLUS, TIDAL - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - RPI/AUDIOPHONICS/VOLUMIO/5V BATTERY - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN/Q ACOUSTIC BT3/CANTON SUB - P.INSPIRED MAINS REGENERATED.

  2. #72
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 80,336
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Indeed. Unless the "some" represents an opinion I rate, then you know what you can do with it!

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  3. #73
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 47,213
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Yup. Gary reckoned he got an improvement so I tried it. It's a nice cable and surprisingly thin
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/EMOTIVA XPS1/12V BATTERY - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP\WE TUBED - TWIN AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTHS - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10, AUDIRVANA 3 PLUS, TIDAL - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - RPI/AUDIOPHONICS/VOLUMIO/5V BATTERY - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN/Q ACOUSTIC BT3/CANTON SUB - P.INSPIRED MAINS REGENERATED.

  4. #74
    Join Date: Apr 2015

    Location: Central Virginia

    Posts: 1,254
    I'm Russell.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WAD62 View Post
    Or even better, new specs and a new TV!

    ...especially if you want to fully appreciate 4k resolution
    My daughter has a large 4K tv, and youíre right about the picture, itís amazing! When they first got it there wasnít much in the way of 4K programming, but I suppose that has changed?

    Russell

  5. #75
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 80,336
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marco View Post
    Just pulled the trigger on one of these (as recommended by Gaz), as I trust his judgement: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Full report when it arrives!
    Ok, the cable's now here (arrived a few days ago), and I've been assessing its efficacy.

    For now I'll simply say that I'm very pleased indeed with it (and that Gaz was right, as usual with these things), but will go into more detail about my findings on a separate thread, particularly in comparison with the 'same' lead, sold by Cable Depot, as it's not the same at all...

    More soon!

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  6. #76
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 3,038
    I'm Will.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by struth View Post
    Looks similar and has similar spec. It monoprice might be better made. As you say trial may prove it. Some say there is no differences possible but they say that about lots of things
    Hi Grant, I'm only running a 1.5m HDMI cable, the active monoprice ones seem to come in at 3M, is there any benefit in using the shorter 'passive' one?
    Cheers, Will

  7. #77
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 47,213
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WAD62 View Post
    Hi Grant, I'm only running a 1.5m HDMI cable, the active monoprice ones seem to come in at 3M, is there any benefit in using the shorter 'passive' one?
    i got the smallest active one. its longer than i need but it is excellent. wanted to try the active and think its worth it even for hd as thats all i have at moment. its the only active ive tried(monoprice) but marco has did an A-B and thinks its better than the other one he has.
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/EMOTIVA XPS1/12V BATTERY - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP\WE TUBED - TWIN AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTHS - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10, AUDIRVANA 3 PLUS, TIDAL - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - RPI/AUDIOPHONICS/VOLUMIO/5V BATTERY - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN/Q ACOUSTIC BT3/CANTON SUB - P.INSPIRED MAINS REGENERATED.

  8. #78
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 80,336
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Hi Will,

    Quote Originally Posted by WAD62 View Post
    Hi Grant, I'm only running a 1.5m HDMI cable, the active monoprice ones seem to come in at 3M..
    Not so if you order it from Cable Depot, where what seems like a similar cable, is available from 1m upwards: https://www.cabledepot.co.uk/1m-thin...et-p-3012.html

    The main point of the Redmere technology (see link below) is that the internal chipset 'equalizes' the signal loss effects caused by longer cable lengths, so within reason, cable length, with HDMI, is of no issue. Simply choose what you need, so that the cable reaches what it has to reach!

    https://hometheaterhifi.com/q-a/what...re-technology/

    *However*, having examined the Monoprice item and compared its appearance with the one from Cable Depot, although both feature Redmere technology, externally they're quite different (in terms of the plugs used and the cable itself), so until I carry out a direct comparison between both in actual use, which I'll be doing soon, I won't know which (if any) is better.

    Therefore, you may wish to hang fire on buying anything until I test that out

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  9. #79
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 80,336
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by struth View Post
    i got the smallest active one. its longer than i need but it is excellent. wanted to try the active and think its worth it even for hd as thats all i have at moment. its the only active ive tried(monoprice) but marco has did an A-B and thinks its better than the other one he has.
    Yes, but in that instance it was being compared with a basic 'no name' HDMI lead, which I was given by the Sky engineer who called to set up my Sky Q system, and in that application (going from my Sky box to my Sony home-cinema amp), it was pretty much night and day, to the extent that it rendered the latter as broken.

    How the Monoprice compares with the 'proper' HDMI cables I was using from the amp to the TV, and from my Blu-ray player to the amp, has yet to be discovered, and which will form the basis of my forthcoming review

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  10. #80
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 3,038
    I'm Will.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marco View Post
    Hi Will,



    Not so if you order it from Cable Depot, where what seems like a similar cable, is available from 1m upwards: https://www.cabledepot.co.uk/1m-thin...et-p-3012.html

    The main point of the Redmere technology (see link below) is that the internal chipset 'equalizes' the signal loss effects caused by using longer lengths of cables, so within reason, cable length is of no issue.

    https://hometheaterhifi.com/q-a/what...re-technology/

    *However*, having examined the Monoprice item and compared it with the one from Cable Depot, although both feature Redmere technology, externally they're quite different (in terms of the plugs used and the cable itself), so until I carry out a direct comparison between both, which I'll be doing soon, I won't know which (if any) is better.

    Therefore, you may wish to hang fire on buying any until I test that out

    Marco.
    Cheers Marco...I shall watch with interest...
    Currently I'm just using the supplied HDMIs with my sky Q box, and UB900 player
    Cheers, Will

+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast



 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •