+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 161

Thread: Strong STRONG reccommendation for this HDMI cable...genuine Stepchange better.

  1. #51
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 79,485
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Cheers, mate. I'll check it out

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  2. #52
    Join Date: Feb 2010

    Location: Berkshire, UK

    Posts: 3,163
    I'm Tom.

    Default

    Any of this apply to USB cables? I need long ones.

    Don't have HDMI cos I don't have a TV or any video-related stuff.
    Main: Speakers 'RFC' Tannoy Canterburys / custom crossovers; Amp - Radford STA100; Pre EAR 912; Vinyl: Thorens TD124 MkII + Ikeda IT345-CR1 / Ikeda IT-407 tonearms; Cartridges Stereo - Miyajima Madake, Ortofon SPU Royal N, Ikeda 9C III, SAEC/Excel C3; Mono - Miyajimas - Zero 0.7, Premium 1.0, Sonovox MC-4 1.0, Edison '78' 4.0 conical, and Shure M44 strapped for mono with several Expert Stylus conicals for different eras of 78s; Phono stage and SUT from EAR 912; Esoteric Sound Re-Equalizer for equalisation of early mono and 78, switchable in from tape loop; Digital: Audio Note CDT2/II transport, heavily modded AN Kit DAC + Mutec MC3+USB.

    Study: Speakers - Tannoy DC6; Amp: Pass Aleph 'Mini'; preamp - Firebottle custom; Vinyl: Garrard 401 with AT1503 tonearm and vintage Ortofon SL-15e with matching Ortofon 2-15k SUT; Phono Stage: Firebottle Plus; Digital - Trichord Genesis III CDP + Arcam rBlink; Schiit Multibit DAC.

  3. #53
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 46,113
    I'm Grant.

    Default

    If u go over 5 metres then get a repeater cable. I use a 10 metre one and it works great
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/EMOTIVA XPS1/12V BATTERY - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP\WE TUBED - TWIN AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTHS - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER24, SPOTIFY - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - RPI/AUDIOPHONICS/VOLUMIO/5V BATTERY - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN/Q ACOUSTIC BT3/CANTON SUB - P.INSPIRED MAINS REGENERATED.

  4. #54
    Join Date: Feb 2013

    Location: W Lothian

    Posts: 46,113
    I'm Grant.

    Default Strong STRONG reccommendation for this HDMI cable...genuine Stepchange better.

    Mine from Amazon USA. (Monoprice active hdmi) came. Installed and think its a deffo improvement. Have file of battleship via Amazon prime is very nice as is the audio extracted from the hdmi and bluetoothed to my Dac and headphones.

    £20 all in so not disastrous
    Regards,
    Grant ....

    I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....
    OPPO BDP-103D DARBEE - JBE SERIES 3/B&O SP1/EMOTIVA XPS1/12V BATTERY - TWIN PRO MONOBLOCK AMPLIFIERS - XIANG SHENG DAC\PRE\HEADPHONE AMP\WE TUBED - TWIN AVANTREE OASIS CLASS 1 BLUETOOTHS - AUDIO TECHNICA ATH-MSR7 & OPPO PM-3 PLANAR HEADPHONES - WIN10 JRIVER24, SPOTIFY - SMSL M6 MINIDAC - RPI/AUDIOPHONICS/VOLUMIO/5V BATTERY - FULL RANGE TWIN TELEFUNKEN/Q ACOUSTIC BT3/CANTON SUB - P.INSPIRED MAINS REGENERATED.

  5. #55
    Join Date: Oct 2008

    Location: Aughton, Ormskirk

    Posts: 2,724
    I'm Jerry.

    Default

    Despite saying I would wait, the £10 Redmere cable from Cabledepot was too much of a temptation and I bought one.
    I normally use the tuner inside my TV but if I need to record I switch to the Talktalk set top box. The picture was decidedly inferior when the set top box was used but the Redmere cable makes a considerable difference on HD.
    A surprising and good result. Well done to Gaz and Geoff.
    Jerry
    Hifi: IPL transmission line floorstanding speakers, Croft Series 7 power amp and a Standac. Squeezebox Touch
    Custom Hifi cables HA10SE headphone amplifier and Hifiman HE-400 headphones.
    AV system: LG 55B7, Denon AVR -x2300w receiver, Quad 12L (front) 11c Centre and 11L rear . Velodyne DD15 subwoofer.

  6. #56
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Notts

    Posts: 1,531
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Covenant View Post
    Despite saying I would wait, the £10 Redmere cable from Cabledepot was too much of a temptation and I bought one.
    I normally use the tuner inside my TV but if I need to record I switch to the Talktalk set top box. The picture was decidedly inferior when the set top box was used but the Redmere cable makes a considerable difference on HD.
    A surprising and good result. Well done to Gaz and Geoff.
    Redmere clearly improves on HD performance. However, I think the biggest difference for me was with HDR performance. Colours were better differentiated.

    Geoiff

  7. #57
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 3,038
    I'm Will.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sherwood View Post
    Redmere clearly improves on HD performance. However, I think the biggest difference for me was with HDR performance. Colours were better differentiated.

    Geoiff
    Hi Geoff, have you had it running with 4K HDR?
    Cheers, Will

  8. #58
    Join Date: May 2016

    Location: Notts

    Posts: 1,531
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WAD62 View Post
    Hi Geoff, have you had it running with 4K HDR?
    I am using mine with a 32" 4k AOC pc monitor and the performance is excellent. I do a lot of writing and spreadsheet work. On this monitor I can have 3 a4 pages side by side even larger than the original a4 pages, or an a4 page side by side with a large spreadsheet. Even though the fonts are tiny, they are so clear. The new cable has added clarity to the mix.

    I haven't yet switched to a 4k tv, but my friend bought one of these cables for his 55" 4k tv. Big overall improvement with better colour saturation.

    Geoff

    Geoff

  9. #59
    Join Date: May 2009

    Location: Stäfa (near Zürich), Switzerland

    Posts: 290
    I'm Richard.

    Default

    I run an old Panasonic 50” plasma - with rpi2 OSMC/Kodi as a source high quality HD media sometimes gave red dots on any input except the first (and even then during busy scenes they sometimes appeared over the blacks) - I ordered 2 redmere cables off Aliexpress at US$10 each delivered on the back of this thread. Thanks - problem solved for Kodi

  10. #60
    Join Date: Oct 2008

    Location: Glasgowshire

    Posts: 6,766
    I'm availableforweddingsAndBarmitzvas.

    Default

    Great to see others getting the benefit from these cables.
    Happy 'bout dat.
    have hifi n stuff

+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 17 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •