+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 71

Thread: Remote prices - WHAT!

  1. #1
    Join Date: May 2010

    Location: Worcestershire, UK

    Posts: 598
    I'm Rob.

    Default Remote prices - WHAT!

    I thought I'd see if my new (to me) Bryston DAC has a remote option. It does .... that will be 400 thank you.

    WWWWWHHHHHAAAAAATTTTTT!

    In a world where Schiit offer a replacement remote for $18, how can anyone charge hundreds of pounds for a remote
    Rob.
    Powered by crossed fingers and clenched buttocks

  2. #2
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 36,217
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    Free delivery though.

  3. #3
    Join Date: Feb 2014

    Location: Huntingdonshire

    Posts: 1,413
    I'm Andrew.

    Default

    That is pricey. There are significant differences in quality and facilities between them though.

  4. #4
    Join Date: May 2010

    Location: Worcestershire, UK

    Posts: 598
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    Agreed there are differences - but 380 difference?
    Rob.
    Powered by crossed fingers and clenched buttocks

  5. #5
    Join Date: Aug 2008

    Location: Suffolk, UK

    Posts: 1,250
    I'm Paul.

    Default

    Often you will find that what you have to pay is not what the item/service is worth, but a figure that represents what the supplier needs to make for it to be worthwhile. Smaller more dynamic companies don’t tend not to have large overheads, like larger companies do. Also no high end company is going to charge a reassuringly expensive amount that is inline with their positioning in the market.
    ~Paul~

  6. #6
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Surrey

    Posts: 6,135
    I'm Rob.

    Default

    If you can find out which binary codes it uses you could source a cheapie? I may be wrong bit I think that a lot of them for audio use the Philips protocol.
    Buy Bose...And get your parking validated!.

  7. #7
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 21,584
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Are they in plastic cases? Looks like it. Bet they are made in China, 2 quid a pop landed providing you buy a pallet of them.

    I wouldn't spend 400 on a DAC let alone the remote control for a DAC. Just nuts.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Technics SL1200P CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / Krell KSA50S Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *


    'This is the sort of music I'd be listening to if I was going shopping for a training bra.'

  8. #8
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Near Saffron Walden, Essex

    Posts: 5,895
    I'm Dave.

    Default

    You would think that if a product had remote facilities that the company would include a remote control with it. That's just mean, especially considering the high prices of Bryston.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Apr 2012

    Location: Southall, West London

    Posts: 36,217
    I'm Geoff.

    Default

    I don't know what functions are required, but if it's just volume and inputs, maybe a simple learning remote would do the trick.

    Something like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Full-Alum...53.m1438.l2649

  10. #10
    Join Date: May 2010

    Location: Dorset

    Posts: 2,818
    I'm John.

    Default

    Taking the p+ss for sure. Just plain greed in my view.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •