+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80

Thread: Sky Q - anyone else here got it?

  1. #71
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 80,434
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loveoscar View Post
    Well just read through this thread, and since I've been living abroad for the last 9yrs I really knew nothing about Sky. Anyway having recently moved into a flat I needed broadband and by chance went into Carphonewarehouse and they had a special deal, 16.31 per month for Sky tv and internet. Its been installed now for about a month and its one of those new Q boxes, and although I only have a Sony Bravia 32" HD its fine for me. I will say the Q box and router do get hot, just checked them when reading this thread. Don't have the sport so watching the snooker via BBC2 red button now.
    Cool - enjoy

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  2. #72
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 80,434
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zoidburg View Post
    However iv got to say the new q boxes are great, they're so much easier to use than virgin's offering with a far nicer interface. I love the fact i can watch recorded programmes on both boxes and dont need wires connecting them either.
    Nice one, Ben

    Yup, that's a good point, and one not so far discussed. The new menu/interface in particular I find is much more intuitive than the old one, and you can access specific areas of interest much more quickly. I love the easy access to the likes of Sky Cinema and how films recorded in UHD have their own individual section, for quick and easy selection.

    Get yourself a 4K compatible TV, and you'll easily see the upgrade in picture quality

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  3. #73
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 21,986
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loveoscar View Post
    Well just read through this thread, and since I've been living abroad for the last 9yrs I really knew nothing about Sky. Anyway having recently moved into a flat I needed broadband and by chance went into Carphonewarehouse and they had a special deal, 16.31 per month for Sky tv and internet..
    That is a good deal. I've been with Virgin for 20 years so of course I get screwed. Don't know how much I pay now, I'd rather not look. Just can't be arsed to knock heads with some call-centre wallah to re-negotiate it. It works, that does for me.
    Martin



    Current Lash Up:

    Technics SLP1200 CD Player * NVA P90SA passive pre / Krell KSA50S Power amp * JM Lab Electra 926 loudspeakers *


    'This is the sort of music I'd be listening to if I was going shopping for a training bra.'

  4. #74
    Join Date: Apr 2008

    Location: New Brighton

    Posts: 187
    I'm Tony.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WAD62 View Post
    Indeed...

    So now the wifi bandwidth is purely for the Q mini, and portable devices...at 39Mb/s

    A word of warning Marco even though the Q mini has an ethernet socket it doesn't like being hard wired, as I found out to my cost, doing so stops both the main Q and mini from acting as wifi 'hotspots'...apparently this socket may be for use at a later date.
    I binned Sky over a year ago (after being a customer for 20+ years) and went over to TalkTalk, only to be very disappointed with the TalkTalk box (very clunky and slow, sooo far behind Sky's HD box) and lack of actual content really. So I caved in and went for the 50% 1 year offer on Sky Q with an additional mini box. As others have said the picture quality is actually better than the Sky HD box on the same TV and the menu system very intuitive and slick. But what really pulled me back in was the multiroom features.

    The Sky engineer thought that the mini box _had_ to work over wifi (it's own mesh, not my wifi). However, the mini will work fully wired, you just have to initially bind it to the main Q box and then in the mini's menu turn off wireless. It then connects via the wired ethernet port (assuming I guess your main Q is also on wired, I haven't tried it with the main Q on wireless) This is just as well as in our house there was no way that Sky's wireless would reach to where it was required. (I have other wifi hotspots for that purpose for mobile devices, connected to the wired ports I had put in each room when the house was re-wired) But, yes , I would agree, you have to forego the Sky wireless repeater function if you go wired.

  5. #75
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 3,038
    I'm Will.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zoidburg View Post
    I love the fact i can watch recorded programmes on both boxes and dont need wires connecting them either. I can't say I've noticed any huge upgrade in picture quality on my 3 yr old lcd panel but I'm very happy anyway.
    You can also watch everything from the sky Q app on your tablet or smartphone, and can download content for offline viewing...

    What resolution is your TV (HD Ready, Full HD, or 4K), and what output resolution is your Q box set to?
    Cheers, Will

  6. #76
    Join Date: Jan 2008

    Location: Wrexham, North Wales, UK

    Posts: 80,434
    I'm AudioAl'sArbiterForPISHANTO.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WAD62 View Post
    You can also watch everything from the sky Q app on your tablet or smartphone, and can download content for offline viewing...
    I know, and if I had a tablet or smartphone I'd use it!

    However, it's a decent reason for getting one of them, probably a tablet, as I have little real use for a smartphone. I'm an 'at home' laptop kinda guy

    Marco.
    http://www.thestainedglasscompany.com

    "A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do" -- Milan Kundera.

    BE HAPPY EVERYDAY!

  7. #77
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 3,038
    I'm Will.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Marco View Post
    I know, and if I had a tablet or smartphone I'd use it!

    However, it's a decent reason for getting one of them, probably a tablet, as I have little real use for a smartphone. I'm an 'at home' laptop kinda guy

    Marco.
    Well worth getting a tablet Marco...

    I was going to suggest an Amazon Fire, as they're ridiculously good value, due to being an Amazon 'loss leader', unfortunately either Amazon or Sky have blocked the deal, however all other Android tablets and phones are compatible from 4.1 onwards...along with some over valued fruit based products

    https://www.sky.com/help/articles/sk...74594f-android

    We use Samsung notes, however probably overkill for just viewing sky Q...

    EDIT; Another little gotcha...

    The Sky Q app isn't supported on rooted Android and jailbroken Apple devices
    ...so the fire is not an option even if 'rooted'
    Last edited by WAD62; 06-12-2016 at 16:35.
    Cheers, Will

  8. #78
    Join Date: Nov 2011

    Location: Harold Hill, Romford, Essex

    Posts: 5,304
    I'm tired.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macca View Post
    That is a good deal. I've been with Virgin for 20 years so of course I get screwed. Don't know how much I pay now, I'd rather not look. Just can't be arsed to knock heads with some call-centre wallah to re-negotiate it. It works, that does for me.
    I'm with Virgin & on a friends advice I called them & picked the menu option for 'thinking of leaving', just told the fella I wanted to pay less & got a tenner off my monthly bill without really trying

  9. #79
    Join Date: Nov 2010

    Location: Coventry

    Posts: 3,038
    I'm Will.

    Default Sky Q to get HDR, among other things...

    At last looks like sky are to bite the HDR bullet, no announcement as to which format...

    https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarc.../#5ab0f1f27828
    Cheers, Will

  10. #80
    Join Date: Nov 2011

    Location: Wakefield west yorkshire

    Posts: 1,332
    I'm James.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Roy S View Post
    I'm with Virgin & on a friends advice I called them & picked the menu option for 'thinking of leaving', just told the fella I wanted to pay less & got a tenner off my monthly bill without really trying
    I won't touch Virgin as they stuck one of their big grey boxes outside our house with no communication, they ignored all emails and calls ,bunch of xxxx's
    cambridge audio azur 651w power amp, novafidelity x40 music server/pre/dac, tannoy dc4t]
    , van damme blue series interconnects, van damme studio blue 4mm speaker cable, klotz mc 5000 ,klotz silver hybrid, thanks Brian, fisual hollywood optical cable,, pioneer bdp170, akg k 550

+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678



 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •