+ Reply to Thread
Page 99 of 99 FirstFirst ... 4989979899
Results 981 to 986 of 986

Thread: Macca's Lash Up 2: Lash Harder

  1. #981
    Join Date: Nov 2013

    Location: HAMPSTEAD

    Posts: 1,012
    I'm brian.

    Default

    I always thought you could plug say a CD player into any of those inputs tuner, aux or whatever ?.

  2. #982
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 22,787
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tapid View Post
    I always thought you could plug say a CD player into any of those inputs tuner, aux or whatever ?.
    You can, and you will get an output - but it won't sound that good.
    Barry

  3. #983
    Join Date: Nov 2013

    Location: HAMPSTEAD

    Posts: 1,012
    I'm brian.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    You can, and you will get an output - but it won't sound that good.
    Test that out, see what the difference is.... thanks

  4. #984
    Join Date: May 2012

    Location: Dagenham Essex

    Posts: 10,726
    I'm I'mteachingmarcotheartofpishanto.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    It will sound terrible (flat and 'sat on') because a typical tuner input has a sensitivity of 100mV, whereas a CDP can put out as much as 2V.

    A friend of mine used to say how bad CDs sounded. It wasn't till I heard his setup (a Cambridge CDP, running into the radio input of a Harrison S200 integrated amp) did I understand what he meant. His amp was being overloaded by the CDP. A change of amp to one with a proper CD input sorted the problem.
    OK , I was going by post 978 , Will try with a different amp
    Please note , I cant spell , now you all know

    TAT Sale post Leader " Marcos Mentor "

    Also a pishanto specialist confirmed by Head Daftee

    Real name " Allen " or "Zoomer Nut”, “Numpty Napper”.

    ±± KEEP IT REEL

  5. #985
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 27,989
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tapid View Post
    I always thought you could plug say a CD player into any of those inputs tuner, aux or whatever ?.
    usually you can, the amp Barry is talking about is from the early seventies and all of its line inputs were 110mv. QUAD 33 has the same issue. I have the other Black Tulip pre and CD is fine through the tuner input so I'd be surprised if yours was different. But I suppose it could be,
    Current Lash Up:

    *Oppo BDT-101CI* Nelson Pass DCB1 / Krell KSA100 mkII * JM Lab Electra 926 *


    'You fool! To think that your ape-brain could contain the full knowledge of the Krell!'

  6. #986
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 27,989
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Giving this big Sony 530ES integrated I got off of Mike a run out:



    From 1990. Cost then was £300 so about a grand in today's money. Always wanted one of these back then, with the Gibraltar chassis and the big rotary volume control. I did buy it for one of my brothers who is after a new amp but not sure I want to part with it now, especially as it sounds better than I expected.

    I didn't expect it to be crap but I did have one of the ES power amps a while ago, the TA-N55ES and didn't rate that much at all, although the rest of the set-up was different back then so who knows?
    Current Lash Up:

    *Oppo BDT-101CI* Nelson Pass DCB1 / Krell KSA100 mkII * JM Lab Electra 926 *


    'You fool! To think that your ape-brain could contain the full knowledge of the Krell!'

+ Reply to Thread
Page 99 of 99 FirstFirst ... 4989979899

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •