+ Reply to Thread
Page 98 of 100 FirstFirst ... 488896979899100 LastLast
Results 971 to 980 of 998

Thread: Macca's Lash Up 2: Lash Harder

  1. #971
    Join Date: Jul 2009

    Location: Hampshire, UK

    Posts: 3,020
    I'm Buriedunderaloadofturntables.

    Default

    Out of interest, did you, Macca, or Al get your Philips Black turnip preamps sorted out?
    Adam.

  2. #972
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 28,050
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beobloke View Post
    Out of interest, did you, Macca, or Al get your Philips Black turnip preamps sorted out?
    I haven't. Mine is way back in the queue of 'things that need fixing.' Lockdown doesn't help.
    Current Lash Up:

    *Oppo BDT-101CI* Nelson Pass DCB1 / Krell KSA100 mkII * JM Lab Electra 926 *


    'You fool! To think that your ape-brain could contain the full knowledge of the Krell!'

  3. #973
    Join Date: May 2012

    Location: Dagenham Essex

    Posts: 10,769
    I'm I'mteachingmarcotheartofpishanto.

    Default

    Good reminder I will see if I can find my one
    Please note , I cant spell , now you all know

    TAT Sale post Leader " Marcos Mentor "

    Also a pishanto specialist confirmed by Head Daftee

    Real name " Allen " or "Zoomer Nut”, “Numpty Napper”.

    ±± KEEP IT REEL

  4. #974
    Join Date: May 2012

    Location: Dagenham Essex

    Posts: 10,769
    I'm I'mteachingmarcotheartofpishanto.

    Default

    OK , now located , Its a Philips 270 pre , However it only has tape Phono and tuner

    No Aux or CD

    Can I run a CD through the tuner input ??

    HELP
    Please note , I cant spell , now you all know

    TAT Sale post Leader " Marcos Mentor "

    Also a pishanto specialist confirmed by Head Daftee

    Real name " Allen " or "Zoomer Nut”, “Numpty Napper”.

    ±± KEEP IT REEL

  5. #975
    Join Date: Jun 2014

    Location: Chorley Lancs

    Posts: 6,681
    I'm Steve.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio Al View Post
    Maye they should re name it a Marco , He can be a bit of a monkey
    Aye, and not a good bit. The bit you see them playing with when you take your kiddies to the zoo
    I just dropped in, to see what condition my condition was in

    T/T: Inspire Monarch, X200 tonearm, Ortofon 2M Black. Phono: Yaqin MS-22B CD: Densen Beat B400 Plus; Headphone/pre: Myryad Z40; Amp: Audion Silver Night 300b stereo
    Speakers: Zu Omen Def. Atlas Equator interconnects, Atlas Hyper 3.0 speaker cables

    T'other system:
    Echo Dot, Amptastic Mini-1, Celestion 5's, BK XLS-200 DF

    A/V:
    Panasonic 42" plasma, Panasonic Blu Ray, Sony a/v amp, MA Radius speakers, REL Storm sub

  6. #976
    Join Date: Jun 2014

    Location: Chorley Lancs

    Posts: 6,681
    I'm Steve.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio Al View Post
    OK , now located , Its a Philips 270 pre , However it only has tape Phono and tuner

    No Aux or CD

    Can I run a CD through the tuner input ??

    HELP
    As far as I know, they'll all be "line level", and interchangeable.
    I just dropped in, to see what condition my condition was in

    T/T: Inspire Monarch, X200 tonearm, Ortofon 2M Black. Phono: Yaqin MS-22B CD: Densen Beat B400 Plus; Headphone/pre: Myryad Z40; Amp: Audion Silver Night 300b stereo
    Speakers: Zu Omen Def. Atlas Equator interconnects, Atlas Hyper 3.0 speaker cables

    T'other system:
    Echo Dot, Amptastic Mini-1, Celestion 5's, BK XLS-200 DF

    A/V:
    Panasonic 42" plasma, Panasonic Blu Ray, Sony a/v amp, MA Radius speakers, REL Storm sub

  7. #977
    Join Date: Aug 2009

    Location: Staffordshire, England

    Posts: 28,050
    I'm Martin.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio Al View Post
    OK , now located , Its a Philips 270 pre , However it only has tape Phono and tuner

    No Aux or CD

    Can I run a CD through the tuner input ??

    HELP
    It's from 1979 so pre-dates the introduction of CD. You can use the tuner input it's exactly the same.

    In other news I now have the Sancoz DAC up and running. Not had long enough to give it a proper evaluation yet but it does sound very clean and clear.
    Current Lash Up:

    *Oppo BDT-101CI* Nelson Pass DCB1 / Krell KSA100 mkII * JM Lab Electra 926 *


    'You fool! To think that your ape-brain could contain the full knowledge of the Krell!'

  8. #978
    Join Date: May 2012

    Location: Dagenham Essex

    Posts: 10,769
    I'm I'mteachingmarcotheartofpishanto.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Macca View Post
    It's from 1979 so pre-dates the introduction of CD. You can use the tuner input it's exactly the same.

    In other news I now have the Sancoz DAC up and running. Not had long enough to give it a proper evaluation yet but it does sound very clean and clear.

    OK later today I will give it a try
    Please note , I cant spell , now you all know

    TAT Sale post Leader " Marcos Mentor "

    Also a pishanto specialist confirmed by Head Daftee

    Real name " Allen " or "Zoomer Nut”, “Numpty Napper”.

    ±± KEEP IT REEL

  9. #979
    Join Date: May 2012

    Location: Dagenham Essex

    Posts: 10,769
    I'm I'mteachingmarcotheartofpishanto.

    Default

    Just tried the 270 pre and yes it does work , along with the Sony CD player and my big valve amp , sounds terible

    Will see if I can find the power amp that goes with the 270 pre
    Please note , I cant spell , now you all know

    TAT Sale post Leader " Marcos Mentor "

    Also a pishanto specialist confirmed by Head Daftee

    Real name " Allen " or "Zoomer Nut”, “Numpty Napper”.

    ±± KEEP IT REEL

  10. #980
    Join Date: Jan 2009

    Location: Essex

    Posts: 22,861
    I'm openingabottleofwine.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Audio Al View Post
    Just tried the 270 pre and yes it does work , along with the Sony CD player and my big valve amp , sounds terible

    Will see if I can find the power amp that goes with the 270 pre
    It will sound terrible (flat and 'sat on') because a typical tuner input has a sensitivity of 100mV, whereas a CDP can put out as much as 2V.

    A friend of mine used to say how bad CDs sounded. It wasn't till I heard his setup (a Cambridge CDP, running into the radio input of a Harrison S200 integrated amp) did I understand what he meant. His amp was being overloaded by the CDP. A change of amp to one with a proper CD input sorted the problem.
    Barry

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •