+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Tube Amp Repair

  1. #1

    Default Tube Amp Repair

    Hi all,

    A channel on my Audio Note 300b amp has stopped working, and I wondered if anyone knows of a repair person I can approach in or close to South East London? Sadly, I don't have car right now, and the amp is very heavy, hence a repair person close to SE London (Forest Hill) would be great.

    Thanks a lot,

    James

  2. #2
    Join Date: Dec 2008

    Location: Yorks

    Posts: 16,647
    I'm Nobody.

    Default

    James have you tried swaping the tubes from channel to channel?

  3. #3
    Join Date: Apr 2009

    Location: Near Saffron Walden, Essex

    Posts: 6,810
    I'm Dave.

    Default

    Why not contact Audionote direct. They aren't a million miles away and might be able to collect or you could send it.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks for the posts. Indeed, I have tried swapping the tubes, and the inputs, but sadly to no avail. On this basis I think this is an issue with either the components or a loose wire. I am reluctant to investigate it myself as I know next to nothing about electronics and am conscious of safety issues!! The best option would be a home visit from a person with expertise...

    Cheers,

    James

  5. #5
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: A Strangely Isolated Place in Suffolk with far away trains passing by...

    Posts: 14,557
    I'm David.

    Default

    Please don't be tempted to delve inside, as some of these amps don't discharge their caps when switched off.....
    Tear down these walls; Cut the ties that held me
    Crying out at the top of my voice; Tell me now if you can hear me

  6. #6
    Join Date: Feb 2008

    Location: South Wales

    Posts: 8,808
    I'm NotTakingLifeTooSeriouslyTheseDays.

    Default

    hi james,
    i would be happy to repair it for you but alas i am in south wales, so unless no one else comes forward in your area, anyway the offer is there.
    regards,anthony,TD...

  7. #7

    Default

    Thanks Anthony, but the postage to Wales (south or otherwise!) is likely to cripple me! Point very well taken on not to delve in to the box myself....

    Thanks to all for your help.

    James

  8. #8
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Galashiels

    Posts: 13,503
    I'm inthescottishmafia.

    Default

    .
    Last edited by Ali Tait; 01-11-2009 at 18:14.

  9. #9
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Galashiels

    Posts: 13,503
    I'm inthescottishmafia.

    Default

    .
    Last edited by Ali Tait; 01-11-2009 at 18:14.

  10. #10
    Join Date: Mar 2008

    Location: Galashiels

    Posts: 13,503
    I'm inthescottishmafia.

    Default

    Hi James,
    Visit the World-Designs forum and send a PM to John Caswell or just put a post up.He's a lovely chap and he does the repair work for WD,as well as several commercial companies I think,and he won't fleece you! He's at Wokingham so not far away.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •