+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hello

I'm Sancho.

Default Hello

Hi all,
    I'm very new to audio. I have a marantz mcr610 all-in-one media player, a hartung 2 x 8 OTL integrated amp and zu omen floorstanders, all barely a year old! Recently an aunt got wind of my new hobby, and gave me her old ariston RD80 TT. The stylus was broken, and the plinth survived a termite attack while in storage. I ordered a new denon 110 high output mc and a TC-760LC phono preamp just to test the waters. After replacing the belt, and several days of figuring out how to adjust the suspension, I finally got the TT working! though not as good as my digital set up, at least to my ears. I haven't gotten to room treatments yet as I will be moving out in a couple of years. I'll be tweaking auntie's RD80 for now until I get a better TT and phono preamp and for now....HELLO!
    Oh BTW, I'm into R&B, jazz, 70s and 80s, and yes classical music whenever I'm in the mood!

I'm James.

Welcome Sancho, get stuck in.
    Source: Heavily modified DDDAC using MacBook Pro.
    Amplification: Pre amp-Stereo Coffee pre amp on steroids.
    Power amp- Rather large Colin Wonfor Class A power Amp
    Speakers: Lampizator P17 Open Baffles
    Accessories: Klotz 500 DIY Interconnects & DIY speaker cable sounding better than anything commercial.
    All powered from a Mother Trucker BPS with a dedicated consumer unit with 10mm armoured radial back to the house tails after the meter.

I'm Grant.

Welcome Sancho. good deck the Ariston. A Better phono stage may well bring the best out of it, rather than getting another TT.
    Regards,
    Grant .... ؠ ......Don't be such a big girl's blouse

I've said it before and I'll say it again: democracy simply-doesn't-work
    .... ..... ...... ...... ................... ..... ..... ..... ..... .....