+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Phono amp question

I'm Graham.

Default Phono amp question

This is going to show what a total novice that I am!!! At the moment I run my turntable through a phono stage to my amp which does not have a dedicated phono stage input. I'm looking to upgrade my amp in the future.
    The question is - If I get a new amp with a dedicated phono stage, can I still use my existing phono amp into the new phono stage input without causing any damage or will it enhance the amp phono stage??

I'm Deleted.

No, you can't.

You could connect your current phonostage to one of the line level inputs, but not the phono input. If you did, it wouldn't in any way enhance it, it would create a very odd balance as the RIAA curve would be applied twice and quite possibly overload the input.
    Account Deleted

I'm Graham.

Thanks for that, short and to the point

Graham

Location: A Strangely Isolated Place in Suffolk with Far Away Trains Passing By...

I'm David.

The main question is also, how many boxes do you want? The enthusiasts here don't care how many boxes their stereo's contain - and that's fine by me as my lash-ups are this way - but others like a simpler life, so buy an amp or preamp with phono stage built in

Good luck in your audio 'journey' and don't forget the music on the way...
    Tear down these walls; Cut the ties that held me
    Crying out at the top of my voice; Tell me now if you can hear me

I'm Geoff.

If you buy an amp with built in phono stage. You can plug the external phono stage into an AUX input and run two turntables, should it take your fancy.
    It is impossible for anything digital to sound analogue, because it isn't analogue!

I'm Nodrog.

Quote Originally Posted by walpurgis View Post
    If you buy an amp with built in phono stage. You can plug the external phono stage into an AUX input and run two turntables, should it take your fancy.