+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Please help, I've wrecked my Beresford

Unhappy Please help, I've wrecked my Beresford

Hello everyone, my first post and all. Great forum, so many interesting things here.

I'm new to the audio mod stuff and I tried to mod21 (http://www.beresford.me/Downloads/Mod21.pdf) my Beresford and it didn't like it, so now I've got two of them. I'm terrified to try anything with the 2nd one at least until maybe I can figure out what went wrong with my first attempt.

What happened is right after I performed the solder bridge part I hooked it back up and tried it out. It started playing initially, then after about 20 seconds the left channel started crackling, then quit. I'm pretty sure I didn't burn anything up with the iron and I checked the connections with a ohm meter and they seem to be sound. But I don't really know where to start troubleshooting this.

If you guys have any ideas for me to try your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I'm Neal.

Can you take an in-focus close up shot of the inside and post it?

Did you get the 'lytic caps the correct way round?

leo is offline Circuit Junkie & DIY Room Forum Leader

Quote Originally Posted by jgarner71 View Post
    Hello everyone, my first post and all. Great forum, so many interesting things here.

I'm new to the audio mod stuff and I tried to mod21 (http://www.beresford.me/Downloads/Mod21.pdf) my Beresford and it didn't like it, so now I've got two of them. I'm terrified to try anything with the 2nd one at least until maybe I can figure out what went wrong with my first attempt.