+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 'Remote Functionality' (with Display) for a PC?

I'm James.

Default 'Remote Functionality' (with Display) for a PC?

Hi All,

I am new to PC based Audio replay but have aquired a half decent PC with a good 'Sound Card'. I am just using USB output to my DAC at the moment which is suiting me just fine.

I would like to get some sort of Remote Functionality. At present I am using a cheap 'Air Mouse' with the Screen on a long lead so the PC itself can be placed in a cupboard in a room next door to my listening room.
    I am unfamiliar with 'Smart Phones' and Tablets and so my question is this....Would a Smart Phone or Tablet be able to be connected to the PC via my Wi-Fi network giving the PC's Desktop on its screen and therefore gaining control of the PC and giving access to Album Artwork etc etc?
    I would not be requiring any Telephone functions from the device so don't really want to buy one on a contract from a phone company.

Any help or other suggestions would be appreciated,

James.

I'm the'greatunwashed'.

Quote Originally Posted by JimC View Post
    Would a Smart Phone or Tablet be able to be connected to the PC via my Wi-Fi network giving the PC's Desktop on its screen and therefore gaining control of the PC and giving access to Album Artwork etc etc?
    Not easily James, as you are basically wishing to use a tablet with a touchscreen interface to control a mouse cursor on a remote PC. I am not sure what Windows 8 will bring, but I anticipate this will be easier than it is now. You can do it, but its clunky, just Google 'control a Windows PC from a Tablet' for answers.

Here's an idea for you;

It has been discussed here before, but I cannot find the thread - I will keep looking. I take it you are talking about a Windows PC?