+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 66

Thread: Hard Drive Failure on my Yamaha HD1300

  1. #21
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: North Down /Northern Ireland/ UK

    Posts: 18,679
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Ok got her open and its a Maxdor HD 4D080H4


    Regards D S D L

  2. #22
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: Wales

    Posts: 7,351
    I'm the'greatunwashed'.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalek Supreme D L View Post
    Ok got her open and its a Maxdor HD 4D080H4


    Regards D S D L
    Yup, that's an 80GB IDE drive
    "People will hear what you tell them to hear" - Thomas Edison

  3. #23
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: Wales

    Posts: 7,351
    I'm the'greatunwashed'.

    Default

    Do you have a desktop PC or a laptop Neil? If you have a desktop and an IDE cable, then I would suggest you hook it up and see if you can access the drive. Let me know what PC you have and the operating system on it? If you don't have an IDE cable I should be able to find one for you and pop it in the post tomorrow?
    "People will hear what you tell them to hear" - Thomas Edison

  4. #24
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: North Down /Northern Ireland/ UK

    Posts: 18,679
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Loud clicking is defo coming from the Maxdor.

    I pulled the ribbon out and reconnected it so it looks like that has done nothing at all.



    Regards D S D L

  5. #25
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: Wales

    Posts: 7,351
    I'm the'greatunwashed'.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalek Supreme D L View Post
    Loud clicking is defo coming from the Maxdor.
    Hmmm, not so good.
    "People will hear what you tell them to hear" - Thomas Edison

  6. #26
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: North Down /Northern Ireland/ UK

    Posts: 18,679
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim View Post
    Do you have a desktop PC or a laptop Neil? If you have a desktop and an IDE cable, then I would suggest you hook it up and see if you can access the drive. Let me know what PC you have and the operating system on it? If you don't have an IDE cable I should be able to find one for you and pop it in the post tomorrow?

    I have a Sony VPCEB4E4E no IE cable, not even sure what one is.....computer numptie here lol Operating system is Windows 7



    Regards D S D L

  7. #27
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: Wales

    Posts: 7,351
    I'm the'greatunwashed'.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalek Supreme D L View Post
    I have a Sony VPCEB4E4E no IE cable, not even sure what one is.....computer numptie here lol Operating system is Windows 7
    Ah, that's a laptop - you will need a caddy then to hook the drive up to your lappy. If you cannot borrow one, they are pretty cheap, but it would be better to check if the drive has failed before buying a caddy.
    "People will hear what you tell them to hear" - Thomas Edison

  8. #28
    Join Date: Feb 2011

    Location: Wales

    Posts: 7,351
    I'm the'greatunwashed'.

    Default

    Got to go now Neil, but will check back. I have not watched all this video as I don't have the time right now, but it does give a glimmer of hope?

    "People will hear what you tell them to hear" - Thomas Edison

  9. #29
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: North Down /Northern Ireland/ UK

    Posts: 18,679
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Thanks for the help Tim, much appreciated, though I feel I am a bit out of my depth on this one.


    Regards D S D L

  10. #30
    Join Date: Nov 2008

    Location: North Down /Northern Ireland/ UK

    Posts: 18,679
    I'm Neil.

    Default

    Looks like the Olive is stuffed too boy this is turning into one of those days.


    D S D L

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast



 

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •