+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wireless signal/Airport Express/Caiman question

  1. #1
    Join Date: Apr 2011

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Posts: 60
    I'm Andy.

    Default Wireless signal/Airport Express/Caiman question

    Hey folks,

    So, I've just bought a Caiman (with Gator2) and it's great. Alas, I live in a long bungalow with my Wireless router at one end, iMac (with music library on it) roughly in the middle and the Aiport Express, to which the Caiman (and hifi) are attached at the other end - so the wireless signal is pretty weak. I use the 'Remote' app on an ipod Touch to control the music selection.

    Sometimes, especially when the imac is (e.g.) also being used to surf the web, I get some judderring to the signal and, worse still, sometimes the Airport Express loses the signal altogether (i.e. the light goes yellow and starts to flash).

    The simple answer here seems to be some sort of wifi signal booster, but I wonder if there are any sonic pros and cons (or other solutions). It isn't practical to move the Wireless router (I also have a very weak ADSL signal so it needs to be at the master socket to work at all!) and I'd rather not have a computer set up in the living room (well, I would but HQ has forbidden it!!).

    Any suggestions?

    Cheers, Andy

  2. #2
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Posts: 9,950
    I'm Nick.

    Default

    Not a direct answer to your question, but I use Homeplug to get a wired network round my house; more reliable than Wireless and might be good for you in your situation. It uses the mains wiring to distribute the signal around your house; just needs an adapter near your router, and another near where you want to data to 'come out'.

    http://www.homeplug.org/home/
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_...meplug&x=0&y=0
    Nick
    My system...


    Follow AOS on Twitter: @AoS_Forum

  3. #3
    Join Date: Apr 2011

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Posts: 60
    I'm Andy.

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Beechwoods View Post
    Not a direct answer to your question, but I use Homeplug to get a wired network round my house; more reliable than Wireless and might be good for you in your situation. It uses the mains wiring to distribute the signal around your house; just needs an adapter near your router, and another near where you want to data to 'come out'.

    http://www.homeplug.org/home/
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_...meplug&x=0&y=0
    Hi Nick,

    Thanks for that - that's a cool idea. I wonder, given how excited many hifi people get about mains conditioning, especially for analogue gear, do you know if there are any possible problems with adding a digital signal to your mains?

    thanks again,

    Andy

  4. #4
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Posts: 9,950
    I'm Nick.

    Default

    It's something you need to be aware of; I run my gear off a mains block that has a filter / surge protector, which blocks the Homeplug signal. You'd be best doing the same if you went down this route.
    Nick
    My system...


    Follow AOS on Twitter: @AoS_Forum

  5. #5
    Join Date: Apr 2011

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Posts: 60
    I'm Andy.

    Default

    Excellent - thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date: May 2008

    Location: Bristol, UK

    Posts: 9,950
    I'm Nick.

    Default

    Anyone else got any ideas?
    Nick
    My system...


    Follow AOS on Twitter: @AoS_Forum

  7. #7
    Join Date: Jul 2009

    Location: Schleswig-Holstein (north sea coast), Germany

    Posts: 814
    I'm Werner.

    Default

    Andy,

    Quote Originally Posted by andybee33 View Post
    sometimes the Airport Express loses the signal altogether (i.e. the light goes yellow and starts to flash).
    just an idea: Why do you use a wireless router *plus* an Airport Express? It looks as if the Airport Express has troubles in maintaining the connection to the wireless router. Is this wireless router an Apple product? From hearsay I know that not every combination of a non-Apple wireless router plus an Airport Express works flawlessly.

    If this is possible, just try to omit the wireless router completely and configure the Airport Express to act as a wireless router: Plug it directly into the LAN port of your DSL modem and configure it to establish a wireless LAN instead of joining or expanding the wireless LAN provided by the wireless router youíre currently using.

    In my flat there are one Airport Extreme (in my office), one Time Capsule (upstairs in the living room) and four Airport Express stations. Iím sure the topology of my flat is much more complicated than your bungalow, because thereís a staircase leading up to the living room and the kitchen. When streaming from my desktop Mac mini located in my office upstairs to the main stereo in the living room the wireless signal never is interrupted, even if both my girlfriend and I are simultaneously surfing the web.
    Mac OS X iTunes → Schiit Bifrost DAC → Yamaha AX-592 → Triangle Zays XS Grand Angle | AKG K712 Pro headphones | my last.fm profile

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •