PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbie Question ~ HD Audio Confusion

synsei
23-02-2011, 17:52
I've been dipping a toe into HD Audio and so far the waters lurvely. At the moment I am playing FLAC and APE files through the Caiman via an IXOS XDU02-300 USB cable from my netbook using WMP11. The quality of sound is entrancing but I know I can do better. The netbook is performing admirably at the moment but it is only a stop gap until I get my desktop PC up and running again, at which point it will become my audio and video server. I would prefer to use VLC Player than WMP but it refuses to play HD Audio.

I'm using what I have available to me to save on costs, so a Squeezebox is out of the question. The problem I am having is that occasionally WMP throws a wobbly while playing and closes, also I hate APE files as every one I've downloaded to date is one big file with no separate tracks, unfortunately I find they tend to sound better than an equivalent FLAC so I put up with them.

I'm also considering buying a second-hand Marantz dv7600 CD SACD or
Denon DVD-1930 DVD DVD-A SACD player to replace my NAD CD524 which has been playing up lately. Firstly, are either of these any good? Secondly, can I connect either of these up to the Caiman via my coaxial lead and get a 24bit res stereo downmix? I'm really unsure of all this digital milarky, so apologies if I'm making no sense... ;)

keiths
23-02-2011, 17:58
I hate APE files as every one I've downloaded to date is one big file with no separate tracks, unfortunately I find they tend to sound better than an equivalent FLAC so I put up with them.

Cuetools (http://www.cuetools.net/doku.php) will enable you to split those files up into individual tracks

synsei
23-02-2011, 18:02
Excellent, thanks Keith :cheers:

Stratmangler
23-02-2011, 18:59
Do you not have cue sheets with the ape files ?
Foobar2000 has a plugin for ape - it just works, so what more can I say, and Foobar2000 can also cope with cue sheets.

synsei