PDA

View Full Version : Dynavector DV-20X2L

MartinT
21-01-2011, 07:21
Anyone have any opinions on the 20X2L cartridge, or more likely the older 20XL? This is a new model and uses the solid aluminium body of the XX2 with a micro ridge stylus. It ticks all the boxes for me and may make a stellar partnership with my DV arm.

http://www.analogueseduction.net/pub/files/1291398873_20X2_400w.jpg

chris@panteg
21-01-2011, 10:32
Fancy a change then Martin ! i was looking at Dynavector cartridges , looking at the feedback from various user's on the net , its an exciting vivid perfomer.

But alas i have no experience .

I doubt it will dissapoint , but i thought you were happy with the 33 .

MartinT
21-01-2011, 10:55
I am very happy with the AT33PTG but I've heard both the Denon DL-103SA and Ortofon SPU in my system and I know what their balance of virtues can bring. What I'm looking for is what the AT brings (all-round goodness and detail) together with even more slam and deeper bass. The new DV appears to bring all of that and would be a step up. I've been chatting with the importer and this new version appears to be very close to the XX2 in performance terms, which is a £1k cartridge.

I'm tempted.

MartinT
22-01-2011, 12:35
I've ordered one and it will arrive on Monday. The clincher for me is that it is totally compatible with my CineMag step-up, unlike the Denon and Ortofon alternatives.

I've also managed to secure a second very rare Dynavector headshell to go with it - fab! Be prepared for a detailed comparison with the AT33PTG as soon as I've got to grips with it.

DSJR
22-01-2011, 12:46
As I remember, the two are total opposite, with the PTG being perhaps closer to the "truth," as I see it anyway.

The 20X series used to be of the big-n-beefy school of thought and totally opposite to the 17D series above them. A bit too coloured - in a Cirkussed LP12 at any rate - and less to my taste than a Suniko BPS which used to cost within £25 of the 20X2's..