PDA

View Full Version : how to change the cable on a thorens td160?

jimmieg
15-01-2011, 21:08
I am having a surpising amount of trouble finding a simple "how-to" on this, even on the thorens-specific sites.
I just ordered an Aqvox phono stage and want to use the balanced-in feature. I will be running it with my Ayre AX7e integrated amp, so yes I will be truly fully balanced.
I have ordered the Aqvox rca/xlr adapters to provide a temporary solution, but will want to change the cable pretty soon.
When I search this I get lots of posts about cutting and soldering. This is not what I want to do. What I want to do is unplug the current cable from the din connector, and plug in a new xlr terminated cable. That's it. I am not very technical and I have not taken the bottom cover off the table yet. Just looking for some basic "how-to" pointers and trying to become aware of anyhting I should know before I do anything. For example, I do not know if I should buy a cabe that goes "straight in" to the din connector, or if I should look for with a 90 degree connector.
If anyone has done this I would really, really appreciate a reply. Thanks and regards, Jim

Dingdong
16-01-2011, 10:19
It is possible to buy tonearm cables pre-terminated with xlr's if that is what you want. Just Google 'tonearm cable xlr' and there are lots of options, if you don't fancy cutting the rca's off your current cable and fitting xlr's.
The question of whether you want a 90 degree connector or not depends on how much space you have. What connector do you have now? I'd be tempted to stick with the same type.
Which cartridge are you using?

Moko
16-01-2011, 11:25
It will depend on what arm is on your TD 160, if its the original Thorens TP 16 (which ever version) there is no DIN connection. The tonearm wires are clipped to a mounting board or in some cases soldered to the board.

If the arm has been replaced with something like an SME, Linn or Rega then you should be in luck by following the advice above.