PDA

View Full Version : Hi all

dewi
23-12-2010, 14:54
Hi everyone I am new to the tube loving members - my setup - I have a mitchell focus 1 deck with a modified SME tone arm for my vinyl (opera) - Sonus Faber Signum speakers on their stands - a new Audio Note M-zero pre-amp - Lumley M120 monoblocks - Sony reel to reel tape - Marantz KJ signature CD player (all Black Gate caps) - and a couple of Marantz tape decks

I only started with the tube stuff when one of my neighbours asked me to bid on Ebay for the pair of Lumley monoblocks for him - I got them for just over £1300 but the seller would not post them so my neighbour told him where he could shove them - so being as I had paid for them I drove up and collected them from somewhere in London (a long way from Pembroke) and they have been sat on the shelf doing nothing for the past three years :) - that's until the wife having a clearout said you might as well sell them when I said no chance I want to use them - use them or loose them she cried -

now I was quite content using all the Marantz kit she bought me over the years until I heard a setup using tubes so I just bought the Audio note preamp

now the advert on Ebay said the Lumley's had just been serviced by the crowd that made them - yet when I plugged them in only one worked so I have had to take them down to my local fixit place where the bloke there served his time on valve kit so I am now waiting and hoping they can find time to do them today for me otherwise it will be after xmas - they wont service them for me just fault find but at least they will work

they did have Sovtec 6550WE valves in them when I bought them but I managed to buy a matched quad of Svetlana KT88's which I will now try

On Ebay they have lots of KT88's now all saying they are the best - ones I have 'saved searches' on

GOLD LION NEW KT88 Amplifier Valves Matched PAIR (2) £70.99

Pair Golden Dragon KT88 retro audio tetrode valve tube pair at £110

KT88 RETRO MATCHED PAIR NOS £88.50