PDA

View Full Version : Audiophile Mains Fuses - Boon or Boooom(!)?

The Grand Wazoo
14-12-2010, 00:34
So what are the pro's/cons/facts and fallacies about audiophile mains fuses?

Do they improve sound quality?
Are they safe to use?
Are they worth the money?

Have you tried them?
If so, could you tell the difference?

John
14-12-2010, 05:03
i have no idea if they work and remain open minded but I do think its a bit OTT to go to these lengths

StanleyB
14-12-2010, 08:04
I used to work in the insurance business one time and can recall that claims were always rejected if there was a fire or equipment failure due to an electrical fault, and the fuses in the mains plug were found to have been overridden or replaced with one that is not approved by BSI for use in the UK.
They would even reject claims if the original mains plug was replaced for one of those quick fitting types, or the mains cable was replaced.

Clive
14-12-2010, 09:02
To test 'hifi' fuses I suggest auditioning a system with:

- standard & correctly rated fuses
- standard but 13A fuses
- shorted out fusrholders, use wire or copper/brass rod
- 'hifi' fuses

I hope 'hifi' fuses don't sound better than shorted out fuseholders....a simple test would be to try a shorted out fuseholder to check is this sounds better than a standard fuse, if it does then maybe get a 'hifi' fuse to try.

Make sure you know what you're doing if trying any of this....

The above is only for test purposes as some of the above options will be illegal.

Quite why the UK stands almost on its own in requiring fuses in plugs....seems like we're OTT.

John
14-12-2010, 09:40
I used to work in the insurance business one time and can recall that claims were always rejected if there was a fire or equipment failure due to an electrical fault, and the fuses in the mains plug were found to have been overridden or replaced with one that is not approved by BSI for use in the UK.