PDA

View Full Version : Denon DL-160

colinB
16-11-2010, 09:03
Ive read a lot about this cartridge and how it sounds good on a Technics but is it a bad compromise running it through a MM input?

ourdogmax
16-11-2010, 10:00
Not at all, it can sound amazing.
I used one for a while, before moving to low output mc, I'm still not sure lomc
is really that much better, if at all.

chris@panteg
16-11-2010, 10:38
Hi Colin

I have been running a DL160 for 2 years now ' a nice cartridge for the £73 i paid in fact a bargain ' now its £143-150 i'm not so sure its so good at that price .

I've experimented with loading using 1st a 640p and latterly a Trichord diablo !
tried it into 100 ohm mc input on both ' also tried 1k which sounds interesting but still come back to 47k mm input , as in all cases using an mc input and loading tightens up the sound but also kills the life of this cartridge.

I've come across some user's who feel that 6-7k sounds just right and some say even 22k .

I myself feel ' well i had it for 2 years ' its a good performer but i want something better , and its time to move on .

Its main strength for me is how well it performs in the stock techie arm , a real surprise , if you go for one , use it with a phono stage with around 46-48db gain into the MM input and by all means experiment like i did !

If you find the results different to mine ' i would love to read about it:)

colinB
16-11-2010, 11:03
Thanks for the interesting replys. My mm input is 47k.
I cant believe the price diff in 2 years. Ive seen it 2nd hand boxed on e bay for £105, thats why im interested. A lot of praise for the cart on the stock technics arm but thats a light arm compared with the 18gm jelco.

I always said i would upgrade my ortofon 2m blue to the black when the time came, but the cheapest i can find it is £300 from musonic. Thats enough money to spoil my xmas.