PDA

View Full Version : MC vs MM?

magiccarpetride
10-11-2010, 18:13
I'm slowly starting to plot and plan my comeback into the vinyl arena. One thing that I vaguely recall from my pre-digital days is the moving magnet vs. moving coil debate. I know that moving coil cartridges are supposed to be way superior, but is the price/performance ratio worth it?

Any insight you guys can offer, along with recommended products, would be mucho appreciated.

hifi_dave
10-11-2010, 20:50
What is your turntable, arm and phono stage ?

magiccarpetride
10-11-2010, 22:00
What is your turntable, arm and phono stage ?

Like I've stated above, I'm just beginning to plot my way back into the analog arena. Meaning, I don't have the gear, which is why I'm asking the question here. I thought I should start with the flavor of the cartridge (MM or MC) first, which will then inform my purchasing decisions with regard to the turntable, arm, phono.

Actually, I do have some gear, but I think it might be sub-standard. Basically, it's the Dual 505 turntable with Audio Technica MM cartridge into the QED Discsaver phono. Should I work with that gear, or should I start from the clean slate?

Also keep in mind that this is mostly an experiment, to get me to see how far can I get in terms of squeezing decent sound from vinyl, and so my budget is limited.

Stratmangler
10-11-2010, 22:01
Stick with an MM.

DSJR
10-11-2010, 22:52
The Dual 505 tonearm won't work with a MC type except possibly the Denon 304, which tracks at 1.25grammes and even then, the deck won't allow more than a hint of what this cartridge can do.