PDA

View Full Version : Record cleaning fluid

colinB
07-11-2010, 22:22
Ive run out of fluid for my record cleaning machine and i need some quick.
Ive been reading that some people think alcohol can damage the vinyl and the stuff i had reeks of the stuff.
Anyone have any recomendations?

colinB
07-11-2010, 23:56
Bumpity :)

Welder
08-11-2010, 00:21
I’m no expert but I wouldn’t put alcohol on vinyl.
I used to use a very weak solution of washing up liquid with a very soft toothbrush and rinse extremely well. But that wasn’t in a record cleaning machine.

michaelhigh
08-11-2010, 01:43
I’m no expert but I wouldn’t put alcohol on vinyl.
I used to use a very weak solution of washing up liquid with a very soft toothbrush and rinse extremely well. But that wasn’t in a record cleaning machine.

Two tablespoons of Palmolive liquid (the green stuff) in a spritzer bottle followed by hand-washing and drying with a very soft, diaper-type cotton cloth. Works a treat (as y'all say) for me...

Concerto Audio
08-11-2010, 16:29
Try www.srm-tech.co.uk
They sell some kind of liquid for cleaning records to use on Moth record cleaning machine.

magiccarpetride
08-11-2010, 17:52
Two tablespoons of Palmolive liquid (the green stuff) in a spritzer bottle followed by hand-washing and drying with a very soft, diaper-type cotton cloth. Works a treat (as y'all say) for me...

"Freedom is the right to discipline yourself" -- I like that. Where did you get that saying?

DSJR
08-11-2010, 17:59
Alcohol in solution with distilled water 1 part alcohol to two parts water (from memory) is what the old Keith Monks cleaning machine used. Phone Moth Marketing up and ask what they'd suggest. There's little that Mike Harris doesn't know about such things - he's been around even longer than I have :eek:

colinB
08-11-2010, 20:17
Moth seem to use alcohol but Monk cleaning fluid is alcohol free.
Is there no agreed consensus on how to treat your vinyl?